CHARLIE WHITE GIVEN OPPORTUNITY TO SPEND QUALITY HOME TIME

Dismissing the argument that Charlie White should be allowed to slither out from under his felony convictions, a Hamilton County judge ordered White to serve one year on home detention providing White with an excellent opportunity to re-assess how he so bungled his voter registration that he now finds himself in this position.  The judge also sentenced White to perform 30 hours of community service work and assessed a $1,000 fine.

White’s defense to his fraudulent voter registration was that his personal life was too “complicated” at the time of his registration.  Imagine if we allowed voters to base incorrect voter registration on a complicated personal life.  Talk about opening wide the flood gates!  Of course, perhaps Daniels and his Republican cronies will put forth a change in the law that reads something like this:

“It is a defense to an incorrect voter registration address that a potential voter was experiencing such personal complications in his or her life that a correct address could not be determined for the purposes of voter registration.”

After all, Daniels and the Republican-controlled General Assembly, soon after the beginning of  White’s troubles, attempted to retroactively modify the manner in which a vacated office was to be filled in order to avoid losing hold on the office of Secretary of State.  That failed amid the outcry of pure political motivation by the Republicans.

So now, White has ample time to re-learn Voter Registration 101 – that is if he is allowed to vote again.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Indiana, Republican Party, Republicans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CHARLIE WHITE GIVEN OPPORTUNITY TO SPEND QUALITY HOME TIME

  1. Jan Bristow says:

    Not too far removed from Indiana of the Twenties, when the Klan ran things.

    • My grandfather, who was a Baptist minister, belonged to the Klan in the 1920s. I was not told until after he died. He had asked my grandmother not to tell me because he was worried about how I would react. Probably a good thing I didn’t know.

      He was more against religious denominations – Jewish, Catholic, etc. Not making an excuse, but I was surprised to learn that the Klan also hated religions other than WASPs.

  2. cw martin says:

    Actually, my friend, dislike of White and his shenanigans did cross SOME party lines- I voted for the Libertarian. I’m not up for those who play fast and loose on either side. Oh, and nice to hear from you again!

    • I agree. I dislike many of the things that are going on today, whether they are Republican or Democrat or any other party.

      Glad to be back! I took a long hiatus – got busy and tied up on Facebook and have been involved on a number of boards and in community activities. But I can’t write like I want to on Facebook. Also a little bored with my old blog theme, so I am modifying it.

Comments are closed.