EARTHLINGS

The cruelty we display toward animals is inexcusable. This documentary is narrated by Joaquin Phoenix. I hope someone out there will take the time to watch this.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to EARTHLINGS

  1. Richard Shaft says:

    Wow! PETA propaganda at its best!

    Now, before you think I’m another example of a heartless conservative, I must preface my remarks by stating that I actually do care about animals. Do I eat meat and go hunting? Heck yeah!!! But, I honestly do not feel that any normal compassionate person would be for the unnecessary harmful treatment of any animal. But I guess I could say the same thing about you liberals; you know, you all love and care about the well being of children but would not think twice about violently ending the life of a human fetus through abortion. Right?

    Anyways, moving on, if PETA “really” cared about animals and our planet, they would try to forge some type of relationship with outdoor sportsman. Why? Because the lobbying power of that relationship could easily bring about the purchase of more public land and wildlife protected areas. This is what you extreme environmentalist don’t get. Hunters actually do care about the protection and propagation of wildlife. More public land means more biological diversity. More diversity means more animals; the type you hunt and others you don’t. It’s actually pretty simple.

    But, since you extreme environmentalist cannot fathom the joining of hands with “redneck-Republican-hunters” you guys will always be viewed as outside the norm “extremists.”

    The slaughter house footage in that video does make most people’s stomach turn, but if you think it is going to make most Americans turn vegan, think again. I love my steak, pork, and chicken (I don’t care by what means it is processed)…..and environmentalist love their marijuana. Such is life in America.

  2. Richard:

    Propaganda? That would be a subjective determination. The movie is not from PETA, and I don’t belong to PETA, so back up. You don’t even know why I am a vegetarian, and yet you feel you can deride me for my decision and for my production of information.

    I have no illusions about converting the public to vegetarianism – by the way, it wouldn’t hurt for you to learn the difference between vegans and vegetarians. The public likes its cholesterol, fat, and unhealthy lifestyle, so I do not look for those things to change.

    I am a liberal, but being a liberal has nothing to do with my choice of vegetarianism. I became sick of meat for the most part when I had to smell rotting cattle on the rental farm I and my ex-husband occupied as farmers back in the late 1960s and 1970s. It tends to smell really bad in 90 degree summer weather, and the owner of the farm that we rented eventually got in trouble for his actions.

    I also was sickened by the butchering of cows for our freezer. It was done crudely with a shot to the head followed by hoisting the cow up by its hind legs to hang from a loader, slitting its throat to bleed it out – all while it was still kicking.

    I still ate some meat back in the 1970s and 1980s, but I continued to decrease my intake. Finally in 1990, I decided to not eat meat for three reasons 1) it is cruelty to animals, 2) it is a waste of grain (only wealthier nations can afford to feed out meat animals), and, 3)it is unhealthy.

    Animal products have cholesterol, and when you eat an animal product (dairy, meat, or whatever), you are dumping cholesterol into your body which already produces 90% of the daily cholesterol you need. No wonder millions of Americans have to take cholesterol medication. Dumping in all those cholesterol-laden animal products is like pouring one more cup of water into a cup that is already filled almost to the brim.

    And, I don’t need a lecture about hunting. My youngest son is a bow hunter and a rifle hunter, and he uses the animals he kills. While I may not like it, he treats them with respect and does not waste them. How many people do you see day after day throw away good food? Look around you the next time you are at a restaurant, or, heck, even in your own family. So you can also back off telling me that I won’t join hands with you “red-neck” whatevers – I wasn’t aware hunters had to be Republicans or vice versa.

    I don’t like hunting, but responsible hunters are preferable to the mainstream public which doesn’t give a darn about where their meat comes from or how much they waste.

  3. Richard Shaft says:

    Very good retort Charlotte.

    It’s nice to know that you have been “around the block” a little and have experienced real life situations. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same about most of your liberal brethren from the east or west coasts. That is probably why my rant was so defensive. I cannot stand those east and west coast librals who to outlaw a lot of our cultural traditions. For example, hunting. I appreciate your honesty and divulging the fact that your son participates in hunting activities. I myself hunt and want to pass it down to my son also. Moreover, like your son, I also do not kill anything I do not eat. Trophy hunting doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. However, if the animal the trophy hunter are going after are not endangered or a protected species, then I guess I just hold my nose. I definitely do not want to make it ILLEGAL.

    Thank you Charlotte for sharing some of your past with that previous comment.

    Richard

  4. Richard:

    Thank you for acknowledging my point of view and experiences. Even though I consider myself a liberal in the left-wing of the democratic party, I have some fairly conservative points of view which sometimes surprise my liberal friends. I don’t think anyone is 100% one way or another.

    I don’t support Cap and Trade, for one. I don’t support forcing individuals to buy health care insurance, for another. Just two examples.

    And, like you, I do not understand trophy hunting, but I know it exists and will continue to exist. I do understand that deer populations (and other animal populations in time and place) need culling and those who hunt and respect wildlife and use the animal for food have every right to do so.

    As an aside, I see where some hunters are not happy with potential new regs that may limit the number of bucks that may be taken – the theory being that taking more does will help limit the population.

Comments are closed.