MY HUMBLE SYCAMORE BRANCH

Last year, one of the 100-year-old Sycamores across the street had one of its large limbs ripped from its body by a strong windstorm.  It fell onto my neighbor’s lawn without being invited, and my neighbor, I am sure, did not appreciate its “dropping in” for a visit.  As the limb rested along the street, I kept looking at it, and I kept thinking about what I could do with it.

I finally went over and loaded it into the back of my truck to drive it away from its resting place to my backyard gate which was not very far away.  I drug it inside and unceremoniously dropped it on the patio until I could decide how to handle it.

I finally pulled it over to my fence and propped it upright to dry out over the winter.  I had decided what I wanted to do with it, so it was a matter of waiting for warmer weather to put my idea into place.  As the weather warmed up this past couple of months, I kept looking at the branch and thinking, “get out there and get it planted.”  Not planted in the sense that it would grow – its death had occurred months before in the fall – both literally and seasonally.

Finally, this past weekend I took my post hole diggers out, dug a hole about three feet deep, and set the long part of the branch into the ground.  I anchored it with some old bricks and iron weights that I had lying around, covered the base with some of the soil that had been removed , and stood back to admire it.  I am really pleased with its form and with all the side appendages that it has.

Sycamores are among my favorite trees – another one being the Shag bark Hickory – and I collect the bark for craft projects.  The magnificent Sycamores that line Thieme Drive were planted back in 1911 under a parks and boulevard plan created by George Kessler.  They are stately, large-branched trees with mottled bark that drops off at various times over their life span.

Sycamore along Thieme Drive

I am thrilled to have a humble Sycamore branch residing in my back yard.  A little gift from nature that adds to my efforts to use unusual materials in my ongoing landscaping challenges.

Sycamore branch decoration

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Fort Wayne, St. Marys River, Third District. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MY HUMBLE SYCAMORE BRANCH

  1. Jonsons says:

    Very nice!

  2. Thank you. I love the bark that comes off the Sycamore trees and keep a large box of it around for craft projects.

  3. Barb says:

    I’ve searched the net to see if anyone else has done anything with a “dead” sycamore branch. The city cut down my sycamore tree a few months ago. (That broke my heart.) I put a small and a large branch in my backyard a few months ago — the large piece now has more leaves than the new tree the city planted. I’ve turned it into a critter feeding area. Reusing branches is a great way to “repurpose” a beloved old tree! You can check it out on my photo site.

    http://mcbean.smugmug.com/Other/Home/12439726_5hcN3#890602403_Do59o

    I live in Orange County, California. (And I’m not one of those Orange Conservatives!)

Comments are closed.