KING SOUDER DEIGNS HIS OPPONENTS “UNWORTHY”

Souder is running scared.  He is, for the first time, in his overextended tenure in Washington D.C. facing a challenger who may just send him home to Grabill to tend to his knitting – and to pick up on his rural roots.

Souder has determined that none of his opponents is worthy of debating.  This tactic – better known as “now you see him, now you don’t”, provides Souder with the opportunity to remain silently tucked away from any real debate of the issues he has so fervently used to challenge the Democrats.

But, you have to hand it to Bob Thomas, the Indianapolis business man who is sending chills through the Souder camp.  He has used the art of commercials early on to hit Souder where it hurts – votes on bailouts and term limits.  The commercial linking Souder to Pelosi and Reed is genius at its best.  Souder used these very same tactics against Tom Hayburst in 2006 when he continuously labeled Hayhurst a liberal – even though Hayhurst is far from a liberal.  The image of Souder in the foreground and Pelosi and Reed in the background is priceless.

This is a race that should draw a goodly number of Republicans to the voting booth in May.   Souder has been sent back time and again to Washington, D.C. by the herd of Third District Republican sheep, but Kings tend to fall – often because they underestimate their subjects – and the opposition.

While Souder deigns his opponents unworthy, in the end, it is the voters who will determine the worthiness of Souder’s opposition – a fact that King Souder cannot change.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to KING SOUDER DEIGNS HIS OPPONENTS “UNWORTHY”

  1. john b. kalb says:

    Charlotte – We agree on another item in local politics! Will wonders ever cease? I do not support Bob Thomas for the same reason that I agree with you on Dan Coats running for Indiana senator – they both don’t belong in their races.

  2. John:

    Yee gads! The planets must be aligned. 🙂

    I have never figured out how potential candidates simply decide to “drop in” and run in an area where they don’t live.

  3. Wes Yahara says:

    You are both ridiculous. Dan Coats moved across the country to be a lobbyist. Bob Thomas essentially opened an office in between dealerships in Fort Wayne and Indy. Apples and Oranges. You’re probably just Souder shills who are paid to scan the blogs and defend “King Souder”…I’ve yet to hear anyone actually say WHY it matters that Thomas lived 45 minutes outside of the district. Probably because even the people (look in the mirror) who think regurgitating the campaign line from Souder haven’t even stopped to think why it matters.

  4. Wes:

    You might want to hone your reading skills – obviously you did not even take the time to read my post.

    Where on earth do you see in my post that I am defending Souder? I am a Democrat – read the lines at the top of my blog, and you will see from whence my positions come.

    The very title of the post starts with “King Souder.” Now, how do you take the title of my post to support Souder? Perhaps you are misinterpreting my use of the word “King.” In which case, if you had read my post, you would see that I am attaching it to Souder because his position of not debating the other candidates is total arrogance.

    As to Bob Thomas? Again, are your eyes bad? I said his use of the commercial to compare Harry Reid, Nancy Pelosi, and Mark Souder was genius.

    Please re-read the post for a better understanding-or get better glasses.

  5. john b. kalb says:

    Wes – I am offended that ANYONE could even envision that I might be a “Souder Shill” !!! I guess you haven’t been reading in the area political blogs for the last 6 years? If you had, you would have seen my tirades about our “Fiscally Un-conservative 3rd District 3 Representative”, Mark Souder!

  6. John:

    I am amazed Wes came up with his conclusion. Although we (you and I) come from different perspectives, neither one of us has ever supported Souder – to my knowledge.

    And, you are right, if Wes had been reading our area blogs, he would have known our positions. I have to think that he merely looked at my caption and thought I was complimenting Souder. Boy, is he off the mark.

  7. john b. kalb says:

    Charlotte – I have to admit that I DID support Mark Souder, back before he decided to make being on the public dole his life’s work! Whem he went against his pledge to return to a working life after his political service, I started to see how he was put together – JUST LIKE ALL THE LIBERALS IN GOVERNMENT! – The only important thing is to get re-elected! Our country was not established on that principle – and it’s about time to return to what our founding fathers desired!

  8. John:

    You are mixing liberals with getting re-elected. Republicans and Democrats both are guilty of just wanting to get re-elected.

    That has nothing to do with being a liberal. Besides, not all Democrats are liberals. I know it sounds good to label all Democrats that way because it tends to be used as a scare tactic.

  9. john b. kalb says:

    Charlotte – No, that’s not what I intended to say: “He (Souder) was put together like all liberals in government” – I didn’t even mention Democrats (you need to thicken up your skin, Charlotte, but then you do list yourself as a liberal Democrat). I have never said all Democrats were liberal – after all, one of my favorate presidents was HST!! Hey, I have enough bad feelings of my own and don’t need more incorrectly attributed to me.

  10. John:

    I didn’t take offense, so my skin is fine. 🙂 I have to admit I am so conditioned to hearing democrats labeled as liberals – many times erroneously – that I tend to link the thoughts together.

    HST – really! And one of my favorite presidents is Teddy Roosevelt.

Comments are closed.