MADE IN THE USA – NOT MADE IN THE USA

Free trade agreements by both Democratic and Republican administrations have had a devastating effect on American workers and American jobs.  Let’s face it, if outsourcing was not profitable, it wouldn’t be done.   Corporations continue to make tremendous profits from outsourcing American jobs while Americans continue to swallow the trend hook, line, and sinker because they buy into corporate propaganda and free-market fanatics who claim that it is “evil” to challenge the corporate philosophy of the bottom-line of profit.

But here is another bottom line:  an outsourced job is a lost job, and it likely won’t be coming back.  In newly industrializing countries, corporations can pay overseas workers wages ranging from .44 cents an hour to .60 cents an hour all the while avoiding commitments to human rights and shirking duties to protect the environment.

As I continue to look for products made in the USA, I have decided to share those that I do locate with you.  I have found it more and more difficult to turn over an item or look at a tag and find “Made in the USA.”  I have also decided to share those that I have found that are not made in the USA.  I have created two new pages:  one for products made in the USA and one for products not made in the USA.  I will provide as much information about the corporations as possible and list it with the products.

As you shop, I challenge you to take time to look at where products are made and to ask yourself what American job was lost so that these products could be placed on American shelves in virtually every mega-retail and not-so-mega retail chain in the United States.

And, lest you think that only trivial items are outsourced, let me give you an example of what I think is a major item made in China.  Faucets – yes, faucets.  When I went to buy my kitchen sink faucet, I looked at all the brands at Lowe’s – Koehler, Moen, and Peerless.  Not a one was made here in the United States – all were made in China and still sold for ridiculously high prices.

Think about new-home construction and old-home renovating in the United States and then consider how many faucet sets are needed.  It isn’t just lower-cost items that are invading our markets – every outsourced job is a lost job. Period.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Business, Free trade, Home Improvement, Outsourcing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MADE IN THE USA – NOT MADE IN THE USA

  1. Pete C says:

    Christmas shopping was an upbeat experience, as I started early enough to be able to match names with made-in-the-USA purchases. It was only in the last-minute frenzy when I caved, and went Chinese on two items. Overall, though, it was nicer experience than I usually have with Christmas.

  2. Pete:

    I bought mostly books this year, and, although I did not check for where they were printed, I would hope that most were still printed here in the United States.

    But you are right that it takes effort to locate items made in the USA. I intend to be more shopping conscious and that means planning ahead when needing to buy something. I have started looking for bargains at antiques shops – the older furniture items will be made here, and I have found some really neat items so far.

  3. tim zank says:

    I hate to point out the obvious Charlotte, but the simple reason we don’t manufacture much anymore in the USA is a direct result of over-regulation and government interference.

    What began (most assuredly with the best of intentions) in the early part of the 20th century to protect workers and the environment balooned into a hulking morass of over-regulation.

    This country flat out forced itself to do business everywhere else but here, and it will only get worse.

    Congrats! You guys (progressives) won! What do you propose we do now?

  4. iceironman says:

    As far as a job going over seas, what about woman now working. If woman were not working wouldnt demand for those positions double as well as pay?? Substitute woman for men for our hard core feminists. Just think of all those women staying home and raising children while the man works. OR vise vesa for the feminists. We have too many folks in the work force.

  5. timraiders says:

    Why do democrats continue to think that a business making a profit is a bad thing? Anytime there is a business they dislike its referred to as “BIG”. Big oil, big retail, big bank, big auto, but “big” government ok?

  6. Hoosierwithbrains says:

    Businesses making a profit is good. Businesses ripping you off is not.

    IMO the reason we see fewer items Made in the USA is because the companies can save a buck by having it produced somewhere else. They’d rather have some kid in China making shoes for .50 a day than pay an actual American to do the job and pay him at least min. wage. To me, that is greed.
    Make a profit, but don’t sell your soul to do so.

    The US having too much gov’t regulation? Um. That is why you see CHINESE products constantly recalled. Dog food, toothpaste, infant formula, toys, etc. The US has standards for things produced in this country so that they don’t KILL someone else. Ooooh big bad government. *eyeroll*

Comments are closed.