MY FIRST HELICOPTER RIDE – AND DEFINITELY NOT MY LAST

For the last several years I kept thinking I would take the helicopter ride that comes with the Three Rivers Festival, but I never got around to it.  Boy, what was I thinking!  Today, I finally made the time to do it, and I have to say, I will be back again next year.

I parked on Fourth Street in a spot along the earthen levee, so it didn’t cost me anything but a short walk across the Clinton Street Bridge to Headwaters Park where the helicopter was waiting.  Not a huge bird, but still imposing.

My favorite river - the St. Marys from the Clinton Street Bridge on my way to take my ride

My favorite river - the St. Marys from the Clinton Street Bridge on my way to take my ride

The helicopter waiting to take on passengers - I believe it is a Robinson

I paid my $20 and waited a few minutes until the helicopter returned with its current riders.  The cockpit held three people – the pilot and two passengers.  I was by myself, so the young attendant asked for a volunteer to go with me since they liked to take two people at a time.  A kind gentleman stepped up and said he would go even though he was with a family group waiting for rides.

View of Fort Wayne just after takeoff

View of Fort Wayne just after takeoff - St. Joseph Hospital is in the lower left-hand corner

I sat on the outside, and, as I climbed into the cab, I noticed there were no doors.  The attendant strapped us in, and we took off.  I am not sure how I thought I would feel, but what an amazing sight to rise off the ground and swoop into the air.  I was a tad bit apprehensive about the fact that there was no door.  To make matters a little more complicated, I had to take out my camera and take pictures while sitting at the edge of the door.  It was a little tricky, and I worried a little about my pictures turning out clear enough since it was not exactly the most steady location.

As we swung around in a large circle, I peered down at the buildings, the sun was shining, and fluffy clouds hung in the sky.  What a wonderful day and what a magnificent way to spend a short portion of it!

View of Parkview Field from the air - what a sight!

View of Parkview Field from the air - what a sight! And that is the door frame right next to me

The ride doesn’t last very – perhaps 5 minutes or so, but it was well worth the $20.  If money were no object for me, I would have lined up a couple of more times.

Swinging around to approach Headwaters Park for landing

Swinging around to approach Headwaters Park for landing

What a great experience!  Now on to that 30-minute flying lesson at Smith Field!  I guess I am a little late starting my “bucket list”, but now I can’t wait to get to my next challenge!

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Fort Wayne, St. Marys River and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MY FIRST HELICOPTER RIDE – AND DEFINITELY NOT MY LAST

  1. rv parts says:

    Your site has been a great inspiration and the knowledge gained has gotten me past the obstacle blocking my way.

Comments are closed.