ONE DAY TO CHANGE THE WORLD

This is now the day of what may be an historic moment for our country. This is our moment. I was not an Obama supporter – I came late to the campaign. After Edwards dropped out, I was faced with the choice of Hillary Clinton or Barack Obama. I was torn for a short period, but then decided to back Hillary.

When she was defeated, I was angry, and I was discouraged. Those who read my blog know how bitterly disappointed I was. I pondered over what course to take – whether to get over it and support Obama or to remain disenchanted and sit out the election. In my heart, I knew I could not sit out an election, so I got over it and moved on.

I have voted since I turned 21 – way back in 1969. The age was later lowered to 18 but not in time for me to vote in the 1968 election. I can probably count on the fingers of one hand how many times I have missed voting in my almost 40 years of elections.

Many folks this year have voted early, and my friends have urged me to vote early, but I just couldn’t do it. I love to vote in person. And now I find it hard to get to sleep knowing that in just a few hours I will be voting in person.

I will get up, and I will go to the Baker Street Station – my polling location. It will be dark and it will be quiet when I get there at 5:45 a.m. I want to be outside when the door opens and the election official walks outside in the dark and the stillness and calls out, “Here ye, Here ye, the polls are now open.”

This is my party for all its faults and all its wonderful qualities. So, in a few hours I will be casting what in my life may be my most important vote. And I pray that I will be celebrating an Obama victory tonight and looking toward a future of hope and optimism.

This truly is our moment – this is our one day to change the world.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Democrats, Politics, U.S. Presidency and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ONE DAY TO CHANGE THE WORLD

  1. Andy says:

    I work in an office along side an individual who recently came to the US from Burma. It has been an invaluable learning experience for me to listen to his stories of what it is like to live under a military regime where democracy does not exist.

    He came to this country (actually brought his wife and two children) for a better way of life for not only himself but his family. He was one of the lucky and fortunate ones who were able to “get out”. He has told me more than once of how he could no longer live under such an oppressive, suffocating dictatorship. This man is an educated man (a Doctor) and gave up his practice, home, and way of life just to have a shot of coming to America.

    This Presidential election has been a fantastic introduction into the American political experience for him. Although he has not yet gained American citizenship, he hopes to have achieved this status within four years, just in time for the next Presidential election.

    This election means a great deal to me, and I am thankful I have the opportunity to vote. Being in the company of someone who has not had the right to vote their entire life, is a humbling and sobering feeling.

    Whoever you cast your vote for – please remember not everyone shares this fundamental right, and it should not be taken for granted.

  2. Pete C says:

    Not only changed the world — Indiana’s blue!

  3. Pete:

    It’s been a long time coming! Although I wasn’t initially an Obama supporter, I have really grown to appreciate his qualities and his dedication to this country.

    I feel absolutely exhilarated today. 🙂

  4. Judith says:

    This is Thursday. My daughter-in-law just returned from a business trip to England. The Brits are jubilant that Obama was elected! And on NPR today there were international calls, most of which expressed joy and hope for the future!

    What a victory for our country! President-elect Obama has already scheduled a meeting of economic experts to continue to plan a course of action. He seeks many opinions and tries to get participants to blend ideas together.

    I hope our elected leaders will work together–I think Pres. Obama will be able to get most of them to do that.

    I know Pres. Obama will inspire Americans!

Comments are closed.