THE INVASION OF THE “GOD” PLATES

As usual, I waited until the last minute to get my license plate. I had called the license branch at Pine Valley to see if – just by some stoke of luck – I didn’t need the whole thing. But as luck would have it – or no luck in this case – I was told I had to get the plate and not just the sticker.

I have really gotten used to the ease of using one of the kiosks to get my sticker, so I was really dreading traipsing out to the Pine Valley license branch, waiting for heaven knows how long, and then getting my plate. But I didn’t want an expired plate ticket, so I took my lunch break and started on my way.

I had to wait about 15 minutes in line. The kicker here is that when the Guv brags about how fast customers are serviced, it doesn’t count the wait in line; the “we can service you better” kicks in when you get to the nice person who politely asks you what you need. Then you take a seat and wait. And the clock starts ticking on how long it will take to call your name and provide what you need.

Fortunately, I remembered what the couple who was in front of me looked like, so I kept an eye on them. I knew when they got called, I would more than likely be next. That worked out well, and my name was called after about a 20-minute wait.

I provided my registration information and my insurance information. But just to digress here a moment – when customers are asked if they still have the same insurance all you have to do is answer “yes.” I acutally had my insurance card out to provide as evidence but wasn’t even asked for it. How do they know you aren’t lying?

Anyways, the process was pretty much complete except for getting my plate. The woman pulled out a plain, white truck plate with black lettering. Pretty nondescript and boring. I was hoping for the new Indiana plate which had the following design. But I didn’t get it. Instead I got the truck plate.

But the worker wasn’t quite done. She then pulled out the “God” plate. She told me I could have that one instead. I already knew I was going to reject it, so I politely told her I didn’t want it. But look at how nicely colored the State has made this plate – at taxpayer expense. The “God” plate is a freebie – it is not considered a specialty plate requiring payment of a fee.

Now, I don’t care if you want the red, white, and blue God plate. Just don’t make me use my tax dollars to supply it. It is a specialty plate, and people who want it should have to pay the fee. The court case is still in the system, but I will almost bet you that the justices will be too afraid of a lightening bolt to rule against the plate.

And here is another perk of the God plate. It can be put on trucks, cars, and recreational vehicles. Not so the pretty blue Indiana plate – it can only be put on passenger cars. So not only can you get a God plate at taxpayer expense, you can put it on almost any vehicle you own. Quite an edge. So, I picked up my plain white truck plate with the classic black lettering and left.

On my way back to work, I started noticing just how many God plates are out there. And why not? The higher ups must be afraid that Indiana will fall out of favor with God. Yep, “In God We Trust” is now residing on the tail ends of vehicles that weigh thousands of pounds and are capable of wreaking havoc. What better place to hope that you can, indeed, trust in God.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Indiana and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to THE INVASION OF THE “GOD” PLATES

  1. Hoosier Dragon says:

    When these “God Trust” plates first started appearing, I started counting the two-letter groupings associated with all of the plates to get a rough estimate of how many were made.

    I stopped counting at about 30. That means there could be as many as 30,000 (each two-letter group can support up to 1,000 numbers) of them, far exceeding any other type of plate.

    And I was also offered one of these plates when I renewed my plates earlier this year. I got the impression that the license branch was trying to get rid of them.

  2. Phil Marx says:

    Charlotte, you summed up my feelings on this perfectly. I don’t really care what others believe whether they choose to publicly advertise it. But if one person can advertise their religious beliefs at no cost, then I should be able to advertise swhatever I believe at no cost also.

    Personally, I’d like to design a plate that says “To God I pray, But in my guns I trust.” Oh, I forgot, they already have that with the minuteman plate.

  3. Phil and Hoosier Dragon:

    I guess I have always believed that religion should be a personal issue, and the state shouldn’t be involved in the issue. I have my bumper stickers – but I paid for the opportunity to let people know how I feel.

    I don’t have a problem with people having the God plate – just don’t make it at taxpayer expense. These should carry a specialty fee just like the other plates that people order.

    I think the license branches have been told to gently “push” the plates. I didn’t ask for the God plate last week, yet the license branch person pulled it out anyway and asked me if I wanted it.

    I also don’t like the idea that the God plate can be used on such a variety of vehicles and the new blue Indiana plate is relegated to second-class status by being available for cars only. I wanted the blue Indiana plate.

  4. Hoosier Dragon:

    You make an interesting point about the number of plates out there. I looked up last year’s use of the plate. Last year 540,000 – over half a million God plates were put out there on vehicles. The administrative fee was $15 so that would make an extra $8,110,000 in the Indiana coffers.

  5. Ice ironman says:

    Why didnt you become an aclu lawyer? You would have enjoyed it so much.

  6. Andy says:

    I agree Charlotte the self-service kiosks are nice to use. Maybe in the near future, they will be able to issue the actual license plates too, along with the renewal sticker.

    Regarding the IGWT License plates, I feel offering the plates for no additional charge, CAN be interpreted as using EVERYONE’S tax dollars to support one particular religion. Ironically, I have seen no OTHER references to tax-payers faiths offered for free on government issued license plates (i.e., Buddha, Allah, Krishna, etc.)

    For the sake of being fair and respectful of ALL different faiths and non-believers who call the United States home, our government should refrain from endorsing any kind of religion. This should be an individual’s choice, through the use of private funds. Please note, this is NOT an attack on any one religion, but just the opposite – to ensure an even playing field for every type of religious creed which is represented in our country and specifically, not give preferential treatment to one over another.

  7. Ice ironman says:

    I guess I dont really agree with giving planned parenthood one hundred million. Maybe we should quit giving money to all businesses and intrests. But I guess a licence plate never killed anything?

    The plate says in god we trust. not Jesus Christ. IF you are atheist this statement should bother you as much as in books we trust, or in the boogy man we trust.

    A normal plate costs 3.19 a InGod We Trust plate 3.69, pissing of Liberals PRICELESS.

    You got to admit that was funny!

  8. Milt W says:

    Editor’s Note:

    Sorry, another idiot who hasn’t learned my rules! The website has disappeared.

  9. Andy says:

    Ice Ironman-

    It appears state-sponsored religion is not a problem to you.

    Interesting, if the state is sponsoring or endorsing YOUR particular religious views, then the attitude appears to be “So What ?”

    Or using your own words: “Pissing of(f) Liberals PRICELESS” in regards to the state of Indiana offering an IGWT license plate.

    Religious freedom or freedom from religion, is not a “liberal” thing, or a “conservative” thing, but most definitely a HUMAN RIGHTS “thing“. The freedom to worship or not to worship is something which should not be taken granted or abused.

    I encourage you to EXPAND your mind a bit. Adjoining and intertwining religion with government is a very slippery slope to tread. History has shown us the results are often disastrous, especially if one does not share the particular religion his or her country endorses. Thomas Jefferson recognized this and strongly advocated for a “wall of separation” between church and state.

    I’ve been to state-sponsored religion countries such as Saudi Arabia and Malaysia. IF you share the same faith as the particular religion the country endorses, in this case Islam, then you are entitled to certain privileges under government LAW. But, if you don’t share the predominant, state-sponsored religion, then you are often penalized and ostracized by that same government. In the country of Malaysia for example, people who do not share the official religion of Islam are subjected to additional laws in regards to activities such as obtaining building permits and paying higher taxes.

    Believe me, if Christianity was the minority religion here in the US, AND its followers were being persecuted and subjected to unfair and biased actions from our government, I would feel compelled to speak up and defend them as well.

  10. Ice ironman says:

    Andy, I wish you would have read the plate. It states, In God We Trust. NOT JESUS CHRIST. It is optional, not mandated. State sponcored religion–you are funny Andy. As Charlotte said, she walked out with a “normal” licence plate. You cant go to sleep tonight knowing it wasnt shoved down anyones throat. The extra 50 cents is what bothers her. I think we should have to pay the extra 50cents to shut the liberals up.

    Also, you state that “if Christianity was the minority religion here in the US, AND its followers were being persecuted and subjected to unfair and biased actions from our government, I would feel compelled to speak up and defend them as well.

    Can you show me the persecuted other religions in America (other than Christianity)?

  11. Andy says:

    Ice Ironman –

    Your question as to whether of not other religions have ever been persecuted against here in America shows me you are either ignorant to the history of other faiths that are present in our country, or you’re just indifferent and aloof to any faiths other than your own.

    Does the Salem Witch Trials ring a bell to you? Hundreds of women methodically singled out, tortured and killed merely on the basis of hearsay and baseless accusations for practicing witchcraft ?

    Here’s another one – The Puritans. They were notorious for their intolerant views on opposing religions. They frequently expelled residents who did not agree with their rigid theocracy. In extreme cases, capital punishment was even enacted for those who violated the anti-Quaker laws.

    If you have a chance, research the name Mary Dyer. She was a Puritan who dared to defy the local Puritan Law by simply living in a Puritan colony, amongst Puritans. She was abruptly hanged for doing so.

    Mormons have also been the target of attacks for simply practicing a religion which was “strange” or “different” than the norm. In the 1840’s almost the entire Mormon congregation was basically “ran” out and expelled from Illinois and Missouri in response to heightened threats and incessant targeting by local residents and police officials. During this time, many Mormons paid with their lives for choosing to subscribe to a different faith.

    Unfortunately, this public hate towards Mormons was escalated with the issuance of the “Extermination Order” of 1838.

    Today, not too many people are aware of this so-called “order”, but it DOES EXIST.

    It was issued by then Missouri Governor, Lilburn Boggs, and it basically enacted, into law, the extermination of the entire Mormon people. Unbelievable isn’t it, but sadly true – and you thought genocide was limited just to Rwanda, Darfur and the Nazis, huh ???

    Look, I could go on and on how religious persecution existed right here in the United States, but I’m sure you are fully capable of researching the topic yourself.

    The history I noted above, is exactly WHY I am very adamant about keeping a clear, defined wall between church and state in our country. Things can turn ugly really quick – especially if you happen to find yourself in the crosshairs of the opposing faith, who just happen to be part of the majority governing body.

  12. Ice ironman says:

    Thank you for using the word “religious persecution EXISTED”. I dont think optional licence plates constitues worry. PS I AM MORMON AND I KNOW THE HISTORY. I guess Im still waiting on my reperations for that whole extermination deal:)

  13. Clint:

    Reparations go to those survivors of a persecution – the Japanese-Americans during World War II who lost everything because of fear, bias, and prejudice. Many were second and third generation citizens.

    You might find this interesting:

    http://www.boston.com/news/nation/articles/2008/08/03/obama_rejects_offering_slavery_reparations/

    Obama opposes reparations for descendants of slaves. Hmm, what do you think about that? Or will you somehow turn that into an Obama-bashing quest?

    What is really fascinating is that two Republican presidents signed legislation to provide the reparations to Japanese-Americans. The following details (from Wikipedia) those activities:

    “In 1988, U.S. President (and former California governor) Ronald Reagan signed the Civil Liberties Act of 1988, which had been pushed through Congress by Representative Norman Mineta and Senator Alan K. Simpson — the two had met while Mineta was interned at a camp in Wyoming — which provided redress of $20,000 for each surviving detainee, totaling $1.2 billion dollars.

    On September 27, 1992, the Civil Liberties Act Amendments of 1992, appropriating an additional $400 million in order to ensure that all remaining internees received their $20,000 redress payments, was signed into law by President George H. W. Bush, who also issued another formal apology from the U.S. government.”

    You will note that the presidents who signed the bills into law were Republican. Why? Because it was the right thing to do.

    I don’t believe in reparations for deceased persons. So if you know of any Mormons who are still alive from the days of persecution, I will gladly support reparations.

  14. Clint:

    As to the license plate, it is the idea that the IGWT plate is a specialty plate. All other specialty plates carry a fee.

    Andy’s point is that “God” is a reflection of the Christian and American term for the Supreme Being. Other religions call “God” something else.

    The word God is a relatively new European invention, which was never used in any of the ancient Judaeo-Christian scripture manuscripts that were written in Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek or Latin.

    Two things are troublesome, and I mentioned them in my post. First, my tax dollars are going to support the plate, and, second, the plate has been given additional special status by being made available for all vehicles.

    I wanted the general Indiana plate with the blue background and the torch and stars, but I couldn’t get it because I have a truck. Why isn’t that plate available to the extent that the God plate is available?

  15. john b. kalb says:

    Charlotte: And it was a Democratic president who signed the detainment order back in the 1940’s. So a couple Republicans attempted to make reparations for a Democrat’s error?

  16. John:

    I know – Executive Order 9066. I admire FDR, and I have visited his memorial in D.C., but his signing of the Order is one thing that I simply do not understand. It saddens me to think that he did such a despicable (in my mind) thing to many who were American citizens simply because of their ancestry.

  17. Ice ironman says:

    Barack doesnt believe in the word reperations or a check cut to slave decendants. He will give it out in the form of health care and welfare, which as you know will benefit African Americans a lot more than any other group. Reperations dont go far enough in his mind.

    But I guess i can claim the world is against me because I am one of few desendants who actually had death warrents out for them. Sucks to be mormon, even worse than black I guess. No Erradication of blacks was ever put down from the govt.

  18. john b. kalb says:

    And Charlotte – Where did you get your information about the word, “God”? Since god is an english word, you are not going to find it in Hebrew, Greek or Latin writing. So, what’s your point? Yahweh in Hebrew = God in English and so on in other languages.

  19. Ice ironman says:

    Fdr was a joke and his wifes utopian sociaty failed. Eleanor was also way too close to hick to help her man.

    7%down the drain.

  20. Ice ironman says:

    OK, back on topic, Charlotte, If We horrible Christians paid the extra 50 cents, would that make you happy?

  21. John:

    You just made my point. “God” is called many other things. Andy mentioned the fact that the plates don’t carry any other names for God to recognize the variety of religions in the U.S.

    My main point which seems to be escaping everyone is that I don’t care if the plate has “In God We Trust” on it. Just don’t take taxpayer money to do it. It is a specialty plate pure and simple and shouldn’t receive special treatment.

    Why is that so hard for everyone to understand. Or are you and others afraid lightening might strike you if you agree with a fee for the God specialty plate?

  22. Clint:

    Whoa there! I am a Christian. Simply because I don’t believe in wearing my religion on my sleeve or my truck, doesn’t make me any less of a Christian than you or those who sit in church every Sunday and then hypocritically trash others for being homeless or addicted or jobless. I see way too many Christians tout their religion and then look down their noses at those who are less fortunate.

    Sitting in church and putting God plates and magnetic emblems on vehicles doesn’t mean you are a Christian.

    After all, I don’t recall that Christ hung out with the wealthy. Seems to me he hung out with those who had nothing – those who were poor – those who were troubled – those who were the discarded of society. Maybe it’s time organized religions got back on track and forgot about building wealth for their coffers.

    And maybe it’s time Christians stopped thinking they can work their way into heaven by slapping a God plate on their vehicles.

  23. Ice ironman says:

    NAME NAMES OF THOSE CHRISTIANS YOU KNOW PERSONALY WHO TRASH THE HOMELESS,ADDICTED,OR JOBLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I used to think like you until I actually attended church. It is easier to judge people from the outside of the walls of a church than to go into them and start helping. Christ hung out with everyone, he did not judge on worldly posessions. Your attacks on Christians are a good sign you are not one. And I know you will give back the camel verse, but thats the only one you know so please dont. What religions are building wealth for their coffes? I want names.

  24. Ice ironman says:

    SO if we paid the extra 50 cents would that make you quit hatin on Christians

  25. Judith says:

    In my opinion the “In God We Trust” plates are the official plates for Indiana. They are the ones favored by our elected representatives, and, I believe, by the majority of Hoosiers. For those who are uncomfortable having thess plates on their vehicles, the state of Indiana has provided other plates.

    “In God We Trust” was an intregal part of the establishment of the U.S.A. The founders forbid any specific religion to be established or even to be encouraged. But America was founded on the core values found in people who trust and worship God. I am dismayed that the cry to remove “In God We Trust” from our currency resulted in it not being part of the new George Washington dollar.

    We specifically chose the “In God We Trust” license plate to repudiate efforts to take this motto from our country. We hope that God will always Bless America.

    And “God” is spoken in many languages and worshiped in many ways.

  26. Ice-ironman:

    In post 17, you do just what I thought you would do. I gave you Barack’s position on reparations, and you couldn’t stand it, so you deflected the issue by changing the topic.

    You must have taken lessons from John McCain. McCain and his camp admitted that if they talk about the economy, they will lose, so they change the subject to mud-slinging and dirty tactics.

  27. To those who think I hate Christians:

    You continue to miss my point. Apparently those who want a religious plate refuse to understand that you can have the plates – just pay the specialty fee.

    This is truly devious that supporters of the God plate see it as an anti-Christian or anti-God move and continue to attack those who want to see the specialty fee imposed as anti-Christian or anti-God.

    Instead of arguing that I am the anti-Christ or that I hate Christians, why don’t you just answer my question? Why shouldn’t the God plate carry a specialty fee? And why should the God plate be available for all vehicles – even trucks and recreational vehicles – and the new blue Indiana plate isn’t?

    Come on, give me some answers, slinging anti-this and anti-that at me isn’t going to work.

  28. Judith:

    I wrote a post some time back providing the history of “In God We Trust.” You should research history when you make statements such as, “In God We Trust” was an intregal part of the establishment of the U.S.A.” It wasn’t.

    Our Founding Fathers exercised various religious beliefs, but if you want to see proof that they did not want religion mixed into government affairs, all you have to do is read the First Amendment. The very first clause states that “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion.” That provision was later made applicable to the states through the 14th amendment.

    You are also mistaken as to the George Washington coin. The “In God We Trust” was not removed; it was placed around the outside edge. That caused a fanatical religious outcry that it had been removed. Again, an attempt to mislead and to muddy the issue.

    Here is the excerpt from my previous post that discusses the “In God We Trust” motto and the addition of the words “Under God” in the Pledge of Allegiance:

    “As to the motto itself, the original motto of the United States, “E Pluribus Unum“, was secular. It is Latin for “One from many” or “One from many parts” and refers to the formation of a single federal nation from a group of individual political entities, originally referred to as colonies and now states.

    Support for the motto, “In God We Trust”, did not appear until 1861, during the Civil War amidst a rise in religious fervor triggered by the War. Officially, coins began bearing the stamped words in 1865 and 1866. The printed motto on paper money came almost one hundred years later, in 1957, when it was used on the silver certificate.

    The mid-to-late 1950s were a time of overt racism, religious discrimination, and political oppression in the United States. McCarthyism was at its peak, with fanaticism overtaking reason to fight the rise of “Godless” communism. The “red scare” had Congress and President Eisenhower conducting illegal and unconstitutional activity. The FBI, under the militant J. Edgar Hoover, engaged in illegal spying campaigns against Americans.

    In this environment, the Pledge of Allegiance was modified on June 14 (Flag Day), 1954, when President Dwight D. Eisenhower approved adding the words “under God”. Following the change to the Pledge, Congress passed an act in 1956 making “In God We Trust” the national motto. Our paper money did not bear the motto until 1957, when it was added to the Silver Certificate.

    Finally, just as a point to ponder, read the Preamble to the Constitution of the United States. No where in it does it mention reliance on or trust in God. Yet, all 50 state preambles reference God. Our Founding Fathers were certainly aware of the existence of God and chose not to implant that existence in the founding document of our Nation.

    Think about this too, the First Amendment places the separation of church and state above all other clauses in the amendment, even before freedom of speech or the press. And, finally, ask what is the purpose of putting religious mottos or words on money, license plates, the Pledge, or in state preambles? Did it save us from a Civil War? or World Wars? or countless military involvements? or poverty? or racism? or genocides?”

    Hope this helps your misunderstanding of origins of the “In God We Trust” motto.

  29. Just a general comment about the fees that could be generated. Last year Indiana lost over $8,000,000 in fees that could have been generated by the “In God We Trust” plate. And, judging by the number of God plates I see this year, even more will be lost.

    That money could have been used for many things to help Indiana citizens, so I ask this of all the God plate supporters,”Do you think God or Christ would have minded if that money was put to good use for Hoosiers?”

    Do you, as a purchaser of the God plates resent helping causes so much that you screech if a fee were to be charged? How about if all those who have a God plate chip in the $15 specialty fee out of the goodness of your heart?

  30. Clint:

    Again, with the ad hominem attacks. I am not attacking Christians; I am saying that I know Christians who are hateful and do not care one whit about their fellow human beings. No religion is perfect.

    Let’s look at some folks who claimed to be Christian, sat in church, and then carried on about race, homelessness, etc.

    I will start with my own family. My grandfather was a Baptist minister, and he belonged to the Ku Klux Klan. I wasn’t told until after he died because he had instructed my grandmother not to tell me while he was alive. Baptists are Christian, right? He joined because of the fear and hatred of Catholics, Jews, and any religion that did not fit – at least by their definition – into mainstream white Protestant churches.

    As to feelings about the poor, what is your position? It seems from the posts you have been writing since you joined in, that you have the view that the poor bring their situation on themselves. Yet, you have said you are Mormon and go to church.

    What is the Mormon position on the poor who are not Mormons? What is the position of the Mormon church on race? Didn’t the Mormon church prohibit blacks – until 1978 – from holding the priesthood because they were thought to be the cursed children of Cain?

    Churches – just like other segments of society – practice discrimination in varying forms – whether it is based on gender, race, ethnicity, or sexual orientation. Women have only recently been admitted to the role of minister or preacher in a number of denominations.

    It is with organized religion and its views that I take issue. But I realize there are good and bad people in all religions.

    Again, go to Matthew 25:
    _______________________________________________________________
    The Sheep and the Goats

    “But when the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the holy angels with him, then he will sit on the throne of his glory. Before him all the nations will be gathered, and he will separate them one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will set the sheep on his right hand, but the goats on the left. Then the King will tell those on his right hand, ‘Come, blessed of my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world; for I was hungry, and you gave me food to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me drink; I was a stranger, and you took me in; naked, and you clothed me; I was sick, and you visited me; I was in prison, and you came to me.’
    “Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry, and feed you; or thirsty, and give you a drink? When did we see you as a stranger, and take you in; or naked, and clothe you? When did we see you sick, or in prison, and come to you?’
    “The King will answer them, ‘Most certainly I tell you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Then he will say also to those on the left hand, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire which is prepared for the devil and his angels; for I was hungry, and you didn’t give me food to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me no drink; I was a stranger, and you didn’t take me in; naked, and you didn’t clothe me; sick, and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.’
    “Then they will also answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry, or thirsty, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and didn’t help you?’
    “Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Most certainly I tell you, inasmuch as you didn’t do it to one of the least of these, you didn’t do it to me.’ These will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

    Matthew 25:31-46
    ________________________________________________________________

    I am sure you are more learned in your church’s teachings and maybe even the teachings of the New Testament.

    Finally, I would like to know in what verse of the New Testament that you find evidence of Jesus consorting with the wealthy.

    In Luke 18:18, Jesus said to the rich man “sell all that you own and distribute the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven.”

    Sounds like “spreading the wealth” around to me. Criticize Obama for his words and you criticize Jesus.

  31. Ice ironman says:

    Giving money is voluntary. The state taking it or else you go to jail doesnt make you a good person and in fact takes away some of your free agency to donate. One should give money to charity, not forced to.
    And yes way too many on welfare and other programs have brought it on themselves one way or the other.

    How can I sell all I own when the govt will someday be taking 53% OR MORE.

  32. Clint:

    So would you agree then that all the other specialty plates should now be free? All I am saying is it should be one way or the other.

    If I want to help the environmental groups through purchase of an environmental plate, why should I have to pay an additional fee?

    If the IGWT plates are free of fees then why aren’t the other plates?

    The principle isn’t that the public can’t have an IGWT plate. Reality is that it is a specialty plate so pay the fee.

  33. Judith says:

    Thanks for the info about the origin of the “In God We Trust.” I really admire your research ability and your concise way of putting the facts together. I especially appreciate the info about the new dollar. I will share it with my sister-in-law who sent me a forwarded e-mail about the removal of the motto and requesting a boycott of the new coin!

    However, while the writers of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution did not use the motto “In God We Trust”, we find numerous references asking for God’s blessing on the new country. The Declaration does acknowledge God’s power and seeks God’s blessing.

    You list many terrible activities and thoughts encouraged by people within a church. Yes, but we are to learn from the past and make the future better. Jesus came to teach us a new way to live, and to show us the tremendous love that God has for us. We still haven’t evolved in over 2,000 years into the Christians envisioned by Jesus. But I believe that is one reason that Christians are moving from the right to the left politically. We recognize that Jesus taught us to have compassion for others, to lift each other, and to tap into the love He brought.

    There is enough food produced in our world to prevent starvation! There is knowledge that should be learned by all! There are ways to bring peace and understanding! We need to work together to reach these objectives.

  34. Judith:

    I don’t have a problem with how the Founding Fathers – and Mothers for that fact – viewed religion. I realize that legislatures start their sessions with prayers and that religion has been a part of our history.

    My problem with the IGWT plate is simply that it is being treated much differently than the other plates. It doesn’t generate a fee as a specialty plate, and it is available for all vehicles while the actual state plate isn’t. I couldn’t get one of the new blue plates for my truck.

    I have to wonder why. If the majority of the citizens want an IGWT plate, then why is the state so opposed to assessing the fee of $15 like the other plates carry?

    Not only do we lose money that could be used for good causes but we also lose as taxpayers since the taxpayer pays the extra .50 or .60 cents it cost to make them. This may not sound like a lot, but if you multiply the 540,000 IGWT plates from last year, it comes to an extra $270,000 just to make the plate.

    I do understand the reason for Christ’s coming. He came to take away the harshness of the Old Testament and to provide a gentler and more caring way of treating our fellow human beings.

    I admit I am to the left, and it breaks my heart to see the people who came through the Wayne Township Healthy Cities Health Fair and Veterans Stand Down this past Friday. I worked most of the day, and it is so disheartening to think that with all we have here, many still do not have medical care or food.

  35. Ice ironman says:

    I believe with the Environmental plates, Education plates and others a donation is being made to an association which carries a handling fee plus the DONATION. It is simple math. When I donate to the Sheriff or Firefighters there is a handling fee, IE the freakin firemen and Police dont get all of the money.
    Like I said, we should pay the extra 50 cents to calm the restless liberals.

    The part about this whole deal I dont like is the “I already knew I was going to REJECT it”. It is such a yippie, “I want to impress my liberal colleges” type of attitude. If you say you are a Christian, why would it be so hard to take the beautiful plate?

    Obama is for reperations, but do you really believe he wants that to be known?

    You dont want to be on the hook for a little licence plate fee—I dont want to be on the hook for welfare, Social Security, birth control options (planned parenthood) And all of the rest.

    Also, I have seen trucks in Indiana with the State plate on. Yes they were full sized. Maybe you need to communicate better with the nice people at the Govt agency.

  36. Andy says:

    Charlotte-

    You have done a wonderful job of doing the research and presenting the history of the phrase “In God We Trust” in relation to the US Government.

    Thanks for enlightening us.

    I do want to reinforce Charlotte’s statement, of interpreting possible hatred towards Christians. This is absolutely NOT the intent and is far from the REAL issue at hand here – separation of church and state.

    I have great respect and admiration for MANY Christians. My very own brother is a priest who has dedicated his life to irradiating poverty and providing social justice to those who have been cast out. Just as any other religious group has, there are good and bad individuals present.

    Judith you are right, history does give us an opportunity to LEARN from our mistakes. It is my hope the government we provide to ALL people of our country is FAIR and RESPECTFUL of the many different faiths, and non faiths, which make up the entire United States.

    I know this topic can be uncomfortable to talk about and unintentionally put people on the defense, but I DO think it is a crucial and important discussion to have.

  37. Clint:

    I will refer you to the following website which indicates which vehicles can use the new plate:

    http://www.in.gov/bmv/3233.htm

    You will note that the new blue Indiana plate description specifically says “may be used on passenger cars.”

    If you scroll down further it lists the IGWT plate and says “May be used on “passenger cars and trucks up to 11,000 pounds, and recreational vehicles.”

    Thus, if the state had truly wanted the new, blue plate to be used on trucks and recreational vehicles, that wording would have been added.

    Obviously if someone somehow managed to sneak a blue plate onto another type of vehicle, so be it. I have a truck, and I was given the choice of the truck plate or the IGWT plate. It has nothing to do with being “nice the lady at the license branch” – unless, of course, you think I might have been able to talk her out of a plate specifically limited to passenger cars.

  38. Ice ironman says:

    Todays Headlines

    Obama Control of press begins (leading to the “fairness Doctrine”. Biden cant handle questions. Media banned from event for asking questions.

    http://news.bostonherald.com/news/politics/2008/view/2008_10_27_Barack_Obama_cuts_TV_station_s_cord_over_Joe_Biden_grilling/srvc=home&position=also

    Obama Communist/socialist agenda now revealed. As I said before reperations do not go far enough. He wants America to pay and pay big. Wants Supreme court and legislation to spread the wealth.

    He believe the constitution is fundementaly flaud. Very sad day.

    I guess some of you dont know what you are voting for.

  39. Clint:

    Way to go. The YouTube video is a spliced together attempt by Fox et al. Here is the response from the radio station as well as the site with the entire interview – not just snippets put together for a vicious purpose.

    __________________________________________________

    Barack Obama’s Radio Days
    Monday October 27, 2008 by Josh Andrews, Director of Internet Strategy

    I came into work this morning to find the radio program I once produced, Odyssey, on the front page of Drudge. Over the weekend, someone posted audio clips on YouTube from a 2001 program we produced with Sen. Barack Obama as a guest. While we are happy to have our work in the spotlight, we want to provide full context for these remarks. Odyssey was an hour long talk show with a very conversational tone, and Obama, then a State Senator and Senior Lecturer at the U of C Law School, appeared a number of times and spoke at length on a variety of topics (we have been highlighting a number of these clips this fall here on the blog – examples, here, here and here). In the interest of full disclosure, here are links to all of the Obama appearances from the program. These lead to an archived Odyssey website with Real Audio links, so forgive the 2001 aesthetic and audio quality. We hope to get mp3s up later today.
    __________________________________________________________________________________

    Here is the site where you can listen to the entire set of interviews, not just a fabricated piece. Obama was joined by two other guests to discuss the Court and Civil Rights.

    http://apps.wbez.org/blog/?p=639

    By the way, I didn’t hear one word about the Constitution being fundamentally flawed.

    As to the interview by West, she is a registered Republican, her husband was a Republican strategist for a number of years, and – lordy, lordy – she is already going to appear on O’Reilly’s show on FOX.

    It wouldn’t hurt to look up what Marxism is – it is classified as a philosophy and/or a theory. Here is the definition of theory:

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/theory

    And here is the definition of philosophy:

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/philosophy

    Again, fear won’t help the McPalin ticket. They are both approaching near hysteria in trying to discredit Obama.

  40. Ice ironman says:

    It must feel pretty foriegn to see a republican woman interview a long term senator and actually ask questions. These questions were follow ups to things biden and obama said not Limbaugh or Hannity.

    So, once again you wont accept what obama is. And I dont need to look up any definitions. You are starting to sound like an elitest. But I guess that depends on what the definition of is is. You and your twisting of words and theorys.

  41. I guess it depends on how you view the situation.

    So because I bother to try to understand words and their definitions, I am an elitist? Oh brother. Here is the much-dreaded definition of elite and elitism:

    1. The belief that certain persons or members of certain classes or groups deserve favored treatment by virtue of their perceived superiority, as in intellect, social status, or financial resources.
    2.
    1. The sense of entitlement enjoyed by such a group or class.
    2. Control, rule, or domination by such a group or class.

    That would be Bush – go back and look at the video clip where he talks about his base of the haves and have mores – the smirk on his face is sickening.

    And we certainly know that Republicans never, ever twist words – don’t we?

    Why Republicans are darn near perfect. You betcha!

  42. Ice ironman says:

    Todays Headlines

    Obama doesnt understand the role of judges See quote below

    “We need somebody who’s got the heart, the empathy, to recognize what it’s like to be a young teenage mom. The empathy to understand what it’s like to be poor, or African-American, or gay, or disabled, or old. And that’s the criteria by which I’m going to be selecting my judges.”

    Now for the oath a judge must take before starting

    Each justice or judge of the United States shall take the following oath or affirmation before performing the duties of his office: “I, XXX XXX, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will administer justice without respect to persons, and do equal right to the poor and to the rich, and that I will faithfully and impartially discharge and perform all the duties incumbent upon me as XXX under the Constitution and laws of the United States. So help me God.”

    So much for blind justice? Make sure to ask each defendant or plaintif if they are
    Gay
    Lesbian
    Black
    Hispanic
    Woman
    Preop
    Post op

Comments are closed.