VICE-PRESIDENTIAL ROLE – U.S. CONSTITUTION, ARTICLE I

While I was listening to the debate, I was surprised to hear Biden mention that Article I states the role of the vice-president. His statement was in response to Ifill’s question as to the role of the Vice-President. As anyone who reads the Constitution knows, Article I sets out the structure of the legislative branch and its duties and obligations.

So, I thought maybe he made a misstatement – after all he did make an incorrect statement recently about FDR. But, the role of the vice-president is set out in Article I, Section 3 states:

The Vice-President of the United States shall be President of the Senate, but shall have no Vote, unless they are equally divided.

While Ifill may have been asking what the candidates felt the role of vice-president included, I was surprised to learn that, indeed, the role of the vice-president is established in Article I.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in U.S. Constitution and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.