ANTI-CHOICE ADVOCATES ATTEMPT TO DUPE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Can the County commissioners be duped? The answer to that question will be forthcoming as the County Commissioners recover from discovering that a local anti-choice – otherwise known as pro-lifers – group and its attorney, Jim Howard, tried to slide one through on them. Howard has drafted an ordinance that purportedly protects the health and safety of individuals who have surgery on an out patient basis.

But as the Commissioners learned, strangely enough, the proposal before the commissioners would require doctors who perform certain gynecological-related outpatient procedures to have admitting privileges at a hospital in the county.

The procedures listed include tubal ligation/sterilization, uterine endometrial ablations, dilation and curettages (with or without suction), and dilation and extraction. What? No procedures included that protect all those other males and females not having gynecological-related outpatient procedures?

Here is the link to the ordinance:

http://www.co.allen.in.us/images/stories/commissioners/Draft%20Patient%20Safety%20Ordinance.pdf

Notice that the procedures listed are specific only to women – sorry guys, you don’t merit enough concern to fall under the ordinance.

Look for the group to retool the ordinance to include all procedures in order to ram through the gynecological-related procedures. So much for anti-choice proponents caring about all patients who undergo outpatient surgeries.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Politics, Women's Interests and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ANTI-CHOICE ADVOCATES ATTEMPT TO DUPE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

  1. Judith says:

    Abortion is LEGAL ! This attempt to make it harder for a woman to choose to have an abortion is a scheme perpetrated by the Allen County Right to Life. The members of this group, as well as others who so choose, have the right to carry a baby to full term regardless of the medical problems or consequences for the mother/child. But they do NOT have the right to make others follow their dictates!

    According to the Journal Gazette, Friday, Sept. 12, “The County Commissioners are seeking public comment on the proposal and plan to discuss it again in a few weeks.” Members of the Right to Life are writing to push for the “Abortion Doctors” bill. I will write against such a vote, The Commissioners need to stick to areas within their jurisdiction, like how to keep the bridges in our county safe to drive on!

    I don’t need to give reasons against the proposal. Charlotte gave many good ones, as did the Journal Gazette article referenced above.

  2. Judith says:

    I just wrote to the commissioners via e-mail:

    commissioner@co.allen.in.us

  3. kent strock says:

    Charlotte,

    Of course this is BS and sane people realize it. If they pass it they will spend hundreds of thousands of dollars defending it…which is the sad part. Did you notice the information/monument put up at the bus station? Couldn’t city/county time and money be spent to build a water fountain? The city also pledged 200K to a new private ice rink this week…..
    gadfly

  4. kent strock says:

    Judith,
    Not just bridges, but the people who work at fast food places, take care of old people and the disabled. or not

  5. kent strock says:

    judith,
    Sorry, I have an interest in the bus system and the people who use it to get by…

  6. michelle2005 says:

    Charlotte,

    Another great post. Thank you for sharing this with us…your readers. I hope you don’t mind but I forwarded it to several colleagues.

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  7. Michelle:

    I am glad my post could be used to inform others. I don’t mind people using my stuff. Thanks for doing so.

  8. Dear owner of This Blog

    To day i find a blog for make many of a new friends that write about finance ,money Investment tips etc., Goodluck much more ,Accidentally I meet your blog.while I read you blog .I thing your blog is good and useful for my reader very much.

    My blog Update every day about Finance tip. Company, and etc., have many regular visitor. I hope to be your friend. and exchange a reader.
    Please If you interesting for enhance a new reader please add my link in your blogroll and contact me by email that i send to you . I will add your link fast as fast i can.

    Thank you Goodluck.

Comments are closed.