McCAIN STEALS OBAMA’S THEME

They say imitation is the best form of flattery. Apparently, John McCain thinks so because he admires Barack Obama’s style and campaign so much that he has decided to imitate Obama’s campaign of change. I watched McCain’s speech, and I was amazed at the number of times he called out the need for change.

Obama must be thrilled that McCain has now validated Obama’s calls for change. During the debates, McCain made fun of Mitt Romney for being the candidate of “change.”

McCain has voted with George Bush over 90% of the time. Change? McCain wants to stay in Iraq for 50 to 100 years. Change? McCain wants to drill in coastal waters. Change? Oops! Yep, that was a change – a flip-flop – from his previous position of no drilling in coastal waters.

Perhaps McCain is basing his calls for change on his self-aggrandizing role as a maverick. But he doesn’t even fit that role because a maverick is a person who shows independence of thought or action. A maverick is a non-conformist or rebel. How are you a maverick when you vote with George Bush 90% of the time?

Comparing McCain’s views with the Republican platform that was passed might be what McCain was talking about when he lit the hall up with his cries of “change is coming.” He will be the candidate of change all right – he will have to change his positions to match the Republican platform.

Abortion:

Republican Platform position: an unborn child has a fundamental individual right to life which cannot be infringed (even appears to exclude cases of rape, incest, or life of the mother).

McCain’s position: McCain’s position has historically included exemptions for rape, incest or to save the life of the mother.

Drilling in ANWR:

Republican Platform position: Leaves open the option of drilling in ANWR.

McCain’s Position: Opposes drilling in ANWR

Amnesty for Illegal Immigrants:

Republican Platform position: The platform specifically opposes “amnesty” for illegal immigrants.

McCain’s position: Supports amnesty for illegal immigrants and included amnesty in his immigration-reform package

English as Official Language:

Republican Platform position: Supports making English as the official language

McCain’s position: Opposes making English the official languages

So while McCain steals Obama’s theme and latches onto a campaign of change, the Republican Party has made sure the only change McCain will make will be to fall in line with the party’s platform. A maverick – not on your life.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Democrats, Politics, Republican Party, U.S. Presidency and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to McCAIN STEALS OBAMA’S THEME

  1. Rory says:

    “Change is good, you go first”

    Seriously…you’re concerned that one false hope stole the theme of another false hope?

    For cripes sake, I would have thought that by this point in your life you’d recognize that the Kwame Brown’s of the world exist everywhere (oh, is he a Dem?) Stop pointing your fingers.

    Have you taken a moment to look at your blog titles? For me a beacon apparently has another meaning. Your blog titles in no way promote the Democratic Party, they simply minimize the opposition. Why is that? have you nothing good to promote? Clint seems to bring a rational point of view to the discussion, however, there seems to be an issue with older links….is that because Clint is speaking plainly and freely or because Kent Strock is accusing anyone who debates him of being immature?

    Honestly, I know the answer, and I now that I’ve found this haven for liberalism, I wish you’d allow Kent’s personal attacks to remain..I find them quite entertaining as does my 8 yr old daughter. She kinda likes people understimating her.

    Anyone on this board ever held an elected office outside of PTO/PTA?

  2. Jim Wetzel says:

    1. It’s a “blog,” not a “board.”

    2. I’m here commenting, and I’m a recovering holder of elected public office.

    3. It’s called the “Berry Street” Beacon, not the “Democratic Party” Beacon.

    4. The plural of “Kwame Brown” would be “Kwame Browns” — not what you typed.

    Glad I could help, Rory.

    Now, what I hit the comment link for: just a nit, Charlotte. Too many C’s in “McCain” in the post title. There, I have now appeased my Inner Editor. I wish you the finest of evenings.

  3. clint jenkins says:

    Spelling is sooooo hard. I can do advanced physics and cell biology but cant spell. But then again, no one ever cured a disease with spelling

  4. Jim:

    Thanks for catching the extra “C.” I am always very careful, but I missed that.

  5. Clint:

    You have to spell to provide the correct cure. If you spell a medication incorrectly you could kill someone. If you can’t spell, you can’t transmit the knowledge necessary to cure the disease.

    You can have all the math, physics, cell biology you want, but if you can’t spell or use proper English, you can’t communicate the information.

    By the way, the reason I write so much about the negatives of the Republicans is that there are so many, and it is so much fun to call hypocrites out.

    And what is your point about “Kwame Brown?” So what?

  6. Terry Johnson says:

    I have came to your blog many times and could not resist your last post.

    First, I do not live in Fort Wayne but get here about 10-15 times a year.

    I hold my Masters In Electrical Engineer. I have been issued over 20 patents. I make a very nice salary.

    But my spelling and grammer is far from the top. In fact I am ashamed of it but I have gone back to school several times to improve it. I live daily wishing some how my mind would allow me to do it. I had a Prof tell me that there are some of the smartest people in the world that have a difficult time with spelling and grammer.

    I do not think less of anyone who can not do math above basic. Some people just do not get math after a certain level. However, one I know is an editor of a good size newspaper.

    I can not remember a person inventing anything by just writing about it. On the flip side no one with only a master of math and an inventing mind that wrote a great novel. I guess we just have live with people and there infections.

    You do have a nice blog that I find refreshing to read even though I am not of the same views.

  7. clint jenkins says:

    Thank you Terry. They pick on me here because either I cant spell or type or maybe both!
    Charlotte, Rory isnt me, there is more than one rory and more than one conservitive out there.

  8. Clint:

    So Rory isn’t you, but yet you extol the virtues of Powerline. Here is your quote:

    “POWERLINE…People who like wildlife, like POWERLINE!”

    So I thought your middle name was Rory – isn’t it?

    Two + two = same person! 🙂

  9. Rory says:

    Rory=Clint?

    I truly love the Berry Street Beacon conspiracies! I would have said Democratic conspriacies, but another poster would have attempted to say that they aren’t one in the same.

    Mr. Johnson…I have to appreciate your attitude for the importance of thought over keystrokes. Apparently, on a “board” (my word; exception by Jim henceforth noted). I guess I’ll have to start disecting political speeches based on spoken word and how they annunciate. To wit: Obama saying “Hold on now.” When written out and structured, that sentence contains not a single noun.

    Can that be printed without exception?

  10. Rory says:

    Back to statements of fact- Obama has taken over $8,000,000.00 of hard working, blue collar union teacher dues and McCain has accepted far less from faceless big oil. I don’t know any oil workers, but I know alot of hard working teachers who could use that money at home.

    Where’s the outrage when we can’t afford to keep the children of this country globably competitive, but Obama et al rake in dollars that should be in the pockets of our nations teachers?

  11. Rory says:

    Jim,

    I left some editorial work for you on the above post. Feel free to insert an apostrophe in “nations”

  12. Rory says:

    Terry,

    I think that based on background, Clint, myself and you could very easily share the same institutional background in higher education.

    I just want you to know that while the “blog” moderator refused to answer your congenial post, I thought that it was very well written. I would have added a comma or 2, if that were the point of it all (as you’ve witnessed, when all else fails, seek the lowest demnominator and attempt to distract the debate).

    While I cannot speak for the moderator of this “blog”, I am quite sure that those who are fundamentally grounded in English, Math, and basic understanding of marginal tax rates appreciate your points.

  13. Rory says:

    Hey Jim,

    Just a quick one this time

    You wrote: 1. It’s a “blog,” not a “board.”

    If memory serves, the commas and periods should fall outside the quotation marks.

    Glad I could help, Jim.

  14. Charlotte, anyone can click on my website and find out the powerline connection. Sometimes it is included sometimes not. Notice the punctuation errors.

  15. Rory (or whoever you are):

    You state:

    “To wit: Obama saying “Hold on now.” When written out and structured, that sentence contains not a single noun.

    The sentence is an imperative sentence and contains the understood subject “you”. To wit: You hold on now. Even though you is a pronoun, it represents the person to whom the commentator is addressing the command.

    But you continue to digress and distract from issues. I assume this is a tactic all “good” Republicans will now undertake to divert the attention from McCain’s policies and Palin’s lack of qualifications.

    As to responding to Terry, gosh, I work full-time, take care of my own home (regular care and rennovations), and am involved in several community activities such as: director for a local veterans’ group, secretary for my West Central Association, serving on two watershed commissions, and chairing a committee to expand our local historic district.

    So if I don’t quite meet your idea of responding timely, then please forgive me. I certainly appreciate Terry’s comments and how respectfully they have been written.

  16. I have to missing something here. I want to talk about govt house warming gifts. I havent been off topic yet

  17. Clint:

    Hmm. I don’t see anything you have posted that deals with “government house warming gifts.” I do see something, however, from Rory that addresses that issue.

  18. Jim Wetzel says:

    Just a quick one this time

    You wrote: 1. It’s a “blog,” not a “board.”

    If memory serves, the commas and periods should fall outside the quotation marks.

    Well, “Rory,” you’re consistent … consistently wrong, that is. The punctuation goes inside the quotes. Better luck next time.

  19. Ok. Where is the post where you say go Govt takeover? I asked an honest question and asked to blog about F mae F mac. Where is it. Did you delete it? You wanted govt to take over. I asked the question , what happens if I make 100000 a year and my neighbor makes 50000, do I pay twice the interest rate because I am successful, now that your govt is in charge of lending? Do you remember this or is your blog messed up?

  20. You posted something under “Exxon John McCain” not this post.

    But I will tell you, if it contained any name-calling again, I removed it.

Comments are closed.