DICKE ROAD DEMOLITION

Dicke Road is in the way of something. At least that part of Dicke Road that runs south from Aboite Center Road to where it intersects with Scottwood Court.

I journeyed out to the Dicke Road area this morning to pick up some fresh produce at Schlup’s roadside stand. As I turned onto Dicke Road and headed south, I didn’t notice anything different at first. But two or three houses down, I noticed a for sale sign posted by Century 21. Then a couple of house further, I saw more for sale signs. By the time I got to the produce stand, almost every house exhibited a Century 21 for sale sign.

Of approximately 18 houses, at least 10 – 12 were for sale. I picked up what I wanted and headed back toward Aboite Center Road. As I drove along, I saw a young man sitting on a porch step. My curiosity was killing me at this point, so I decided to stop and ask if he knew what was going on. Just as I was slowing down to turn in, a car pulled in front of me. I pulled in behind the car, got out, and approached the woman who was also getting out of her car.

I asked her if she knew what was going on, and she said a Century 21 representative had come around to the homeowners and asked them if they wanted to sell. She said some of them said they would, and a few said they wouldn’t. She had heard that Lutheran wants to put some type of care facility in the area.

Just looking at the Google Map below, it would appear that possibly the entire square will be eventually bought out if the owners are agreeable.

This raises a particularly thorny issue. The homeowner I spoke to said that several of the homeowners had refused to sell their properties. If that remains the case, then how does Lutheran acquire the property it desires?

Lutheran will have one of two options: it will have to pay an outrageous amount for the homes, or it may seek to enlist the aid of the City. If Lutheran turns to the City, the only course I can think of is that the City might attempt to use a “blighted” designation once again. I would hope the City would not take that route.

Anyone heard what is going to be built in that area?

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Environment, Fort Wayne, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DICKE ROAD DEMOLITION

  1. J. Q. Taxpayer says:

    As Parkview expanded their State Street foot print they purchased homes. It seemed when they first started on one of these projects they would find a number of people willing to sell, while others did not.

    Parkivew plans looked out far enough that the sale of all of the homes where not needed at one time. As time went on more and more homes became available to them. I am sure there was a few they paid “more” for then some of the others. However, none of the homes where obtained by strong are tatics.

    Let us hope if Luthern is undertaking plans to expand that they are operating in the same way.

    Even though Luthern is a huge community jewel there is no way I could ever support the city assisting in forcing people to sell their homes.

Comments are closed.