J.C. PENNEY – AMERICAN LIVING MADE IN CHINA

Just a brief note to share with you consumers. For quite some time now, I have been receiving ads about J.C. Penney’s new line of clothing and household items labeled “American Living.” I kept wondering each time I got an ad whether or not the products were made in America – since it was called American Living. I finally got the opportunity last week to do some shopping at our local J.C. Penney store at Glenbrook.

As I was browsing through clothing items looking for an outfit to wear to the Saturday convention, I saw a rack with American Living clothing. The light bulb went on, and I thought what an opportunity. Let’s see if a line of clothing with the name “American Living” would be made in America or if, as I suspected, it carried the all-too-familiar “Made in China” label.

I won my own bet. The labels do, indeed, say “Made in China.” How in your face can one company get?

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in China, Consumer Affairs, Free trade. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to J.C. PENNEY – AMERICAN LIVING MADE IN CHINA

  1. J. Q. Taxpayer says:

    Well the furniture from China will soon be going up in price and by no small amount. Shipping large heavey items like furniture, steel, machines, farm equipment, lawn equipment, and other heavy items will be going up by 15 to 20 percent. The reason, getting materials to China and then shipping the finshed goods to America comes on ships. These ships base shipping charge on weight. It takes a great deal dollars to push that ship across the ocean to US ports.

    The first step the China is undertaking is slowing the ships down so they get a little better economy with regard to their fuel use. This will also translate into longer lead times for companies ordering products. China does not get their money for weeks longer because of this.

    So in a sad way high oil prices will bring some businesses back to the US or products already being made here will beable to compete against the lower wages of China because of high transporation costs.

    In fact we may find some farmers getting back into producing some foods that had stopped because they could not compete with the low cost labor and so forth from some parts of the world.

    What you are going to see if more warehouses come back online here in the Midwest. Companies will once again move mass volumes by rail to a Midwest wharehouse. Then truck it short distances to end user stores. Keep in mind trains use a fraction of the fuel that 100 semi trucks use.

    Just like Kroger use to have a large wharehouse operation here in Fort Wayne (near Fort Wayne International Airport). It was closed in part because Kroger believed it was cheaper to railroad cars loaded with product shipped to Cincy and then trucked here. Even though the Fort Wayne operation had indoor rail service.

    Their savings came on reducing required office staff, wharehouseman, building, and support staff. Now the savings was not total as they needed some of the above mentioned people in Cincy but overall they cut the operation mostly because low cost fuel allowed them to.

    I don’t know if you have ever stopped at the little A&W Root Beer place in Antwerp. Every time we go that way we stop there for a COLD BEER. I count the semi trucks that travel US24. In an hour there are over 78 semis heading either east or west on this one highway. One has to wonder how many of those trucks will disappear shortly and start ridding the rails.

    So China and India has a very big interest in getting fuel costs down. They are going to loose the business they have gained. I forget where I just read it that export steel out of China is down by double digets. However, US production numbers is up a great percentage.

    So in a sick way high fuel prices may be a little blessing for businesses here in the US. Then again many of these businesses, if they leave China, will relocate to Mexico.

  2. Jen says:

    Hi Charlotte! Excuse me for johnny-come-lately-ing on your topic here but I found this post in a Google search and this very subject is something that has really gotten under the skin of my husband and I. When I found myself with too much time on my hands the other day, I decided to email JCP about my thoughts on outsourcing to China (to undoubtedly bypass fair labor laws in the US, while piggybacking on the benefits of China’s devalued Yuan) and then slapping an economically strained America in the face with that brand name. I thought you might enjoy their response & the third-grade defense that “everybody else is doin’ it too…so that makes it okay!” Gotta love it.

    The name of the brand is intended to invoke the feeling of the classic
    American lifestyle. There are many brands that use versions of America
    in their name, but are not made in the USA. To offer our customers the
    merchandise quality, value and selection they justifiably expect when
    they shop in our stores and through our catalog, we ourselves shop all
    around the world. In fact, our merchandise is produced in more than 100
    countries, including the ones you mentioned.

    *eye roll* I guess in JCP’s case, a bad defense is better than none? Anyway, great blog, take care!

  3. Lou Merloni says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?Thanks

  4. I have a keen interest in gardening and stumbled upon this accidently. Really nice read. Includes a lot of interest. I would like to write my thoughts down in a blog like this, I just haven’t done it yet. Interested in future posts. Keep up the writing.

  5. Think of yourself as on the threshold of unparalleled success. A whole clear, glorious life lies before you. Achieve! Achieve!

  6. I am sorry for making an off-topic message, but I visit your blog almost everyday and wanted to leave a suggestion. Your blog does not have a privacy policy which is extremely important to let your visitors know that their personal data is safe when they are enjoying your posts.

  7. Thanks for making a point of something so vivid. I bookmarked it on my yahoo account – need more blogs like this!

  8. Well done! Thank you. We enjoyed reading your post and whole blog. Keep on running it.

Comments are closed.