THE DOWNSIDE TO COMPUTERS

I haven’t vanished, but I have been having Earthlink issues with my computer service. Sunday morning, the service disappeared. I have spent three days and talked to eight people at Earthlink trying to get it repaired and being shunted from technician to technician.

Earthlink attempted to blame it on Verizon, and Verizon said it wasn’t their fault. Last night, the Earthlink person finally appeared to get the service back up. However, he said it was my router which was now not compatible with Earthlink because of some line adjustments that had been done.

Never mind the fact that Linksys is the brand Earthlink touts when it sells its 24-hour paid tech support program. And never mind the fact that it is new and has been running just fine for two months now. He proceeded to tell me that if I wanted the router problem fixed I had to purchase the tech service support program.

I DON’T THINK SO!! And that is what I told him. Evidently, he thought I sounded a bit testy – who wouldn’t after all this – and he instructed me on how to clear the problem. It still isn’t working perfectly and glitched again last night. But I am back this morning.

People, we are way too attached to our technology. When our computers go down, it disrupts our entire day. I couldn’t work at home, which I usually do to some extent, so I had to put in 12-hour days at work Monday and yesterday.

How sad that we can no longer function without these square pieces of technology sitting on our desks or on our laps. But that is a piece for another time and place.

Okay – so I have vented. Anyone else out there go through this and wonder why we are so velcroed to our technology? I found myself longing for the days when checks were the only form of bill payment, research was done the good old-fashioned way in a library, people actually answered to help you out instead of having to punch number after number for a selection, and computers didn’t control schedules.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE DOWNSIDE TO COMPUTERS

  1. Phil Marx says:

    Welcome back Charlotte, and thanks for adding me to your blogroll.

    It is very frustrating when something outside of your own computer changes but it effects the way your computer works. About two months ago, something changed on my computer. Many files that I try to open now take me to a new Microsoft screen that I’ve never before seen on my computer. I am unable to read anything that appears in this manner. I’m sure for anybody who is more up to date with current technology (90% of the population) they would know exactly what to do about this. But as for me, I am left not being able to access lists of candidates from Allen County Election Board and many other necessities.

    It seems like every so often, some new computer technology makes the old completely obsolete. It’s as frustrating as if you walked into the library one day to find all the books written in Chinese. So you learn the new language, or pay for the cost of an interpreter, just in time for them to swith the books over to Russian.

    Technology is good, and I know the changes (often) make things operate faster and more efficiently, but it’s frustrating when what you’ve got suddenly becomes useless.

  2. Gary says:

    Did you try right clicking on your network icon in the taskbar section (lower right corner) and then clicking on repair? Or turning the power to your modem off and then back on?

Comments are closed.