LONG THOMPSON APPEARS HEADED FOR A WIN

According to a SurveyUSA poll conducted on April 28th exclusively for WHAS-TV Louisville, Kentucky, and WCPO-TV Cincinnati, Ohio, Jill Long Thompson still leads her challenger, Jim Schellinger, by a margin of 12%.

This can’t be the kind of news that Schellinger and his avid followers want to hear. Schellinger just can’t quite seem to catch on. Despite early backing from the Democratic establishment and a much larger bankroll than Long Thompson, he isn’t generating the anticipated support among Hoosiers that he needs.

Long Thompson is running progressively stronger among Moderates, where she started tied with Schellinger but now leads by 28, and among Liberals, where she now leads by 14. Schellinger continues to lead among Conservatives. Schellinger leads by 7 in Central Indiana and by 10 in Southern Indiana. Long Thompson leads by 12 in greater Indianapolis and by 34 in Northern Indiana.

Long Thompson’s lead comes almost entirely from women, among whom she now leads by 23 points. The contest is effectively tied among men. Starting at age 42, women outnumber men. By age 85 and older, there are more than twice as many women as men. It is about time women came out in numbers to support and vote for other women.

Although the election is still six days away, and elections can be unpredictable, unless something unforeseen happens, we are looking at Jill Long Thompson as our nominee to take on Mitch Daniels. I have never liked the phrase I am just about to use, but YOU GO GIRL!

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Indiana, Mitch Daniels, Politics, Uncategorized, Women in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LONG THOMPSON APPEARS HEADED FOR A WIN

  1. Jeff Pruitt says:

    I cast my vote for Jill Long Thompson today…

  2. John Good says:

    Charlotte – I’m glad we have one we agree on. =) I think we will also be early voting tomorrow, and Jill has our votes as well.

  3. Jeff and John:

    It is good to see that we do agree sometimes. I will be glad when this is over. On the one hand, we complain about never making a difference, and on the other hand, we complain it is going on too long. I guess we are hard to please. 🙂

Comments are closed.