NORTHWEST LEGISLATORS ENDORSE LONG THOMPSON

Democrat gubernatorial candidate Jill Long Thompson has been endorsed by five Northwest Indiana legislators. At a campaign rally in East Chicago this week, the following legislators threw their support to Long Thompson:

  • State Senator Karen Tallian, D-Ogden Dunes
  • State Rep. Charlie Brown, D-Gary
  • State Rep. Linda Lawson, D-Hammond
  • State Rep. Dan Stevenson, D-Highland
  • State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon, D-Munster

Jill Long Thompson, a former congresswoman and former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture for Rural Development, faces Indianapolis architect Jim Schellinger in the May 6th Democrat primary. The winner of that primary will face Republican incumbent Mitch Daniels in November.

Long Thompson has also been endorsed by five Indiana Teamsters locals, the United Steelworkers, the Service Employee International Union, Communication Workers of America, the American Federation of Government Employees, the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union, the United Transportation Union and Local #446 of Association of Federal, State, County and Municipal Employees.

Even though Schellinger has raised more money than Long Thompson and, early on, received the blessing of some of the higher ups in the state Democratic Party, he has failed to convert those assets to his benefit. He is a CEO and, frankly, I think Hoosiers have become leary of business leaders who attempt to convert themselves to politicians – a la Daniels.

By Schellinger’s own admission he is “new” at this. Do we really want someone who is inexperienced in the realm of politics taking the helm of our state? The answer is no. Come May 6th, Hoosier voters will have the opportunity to select Jill Long Thompson, a Hoosier with strong rural and working class ties who was educated in Indiana, knows Indiana, loves Indiana, and will bring Indiana “back on track” from the destructive and exploitative course set by Daniels.

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Democrats, Mitch Daniels, Uncategorized, Women in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NORTHWEST LEGISLATORS ENDORSE LONG THOMPSON

  1. John Good says:

    I support Jill for gov as well. You mentioned that hers is a “low key” campaign – I’ve noticed her opponents yard signs popping up. So you know if she is not doing those, or if I merely haven’t seen them anywhere yet?

  2. Hi John:

    Schellinger had signs a few weeks ago and people were picking them up at the Third District breakfast. I believe he also had them at the Allen County Headquarters.

    I haven’t been able to get any signs for Jill. I have asked several times, but they aren’t available yet. I think maybe she is waiting until after the primary.

    I know her campaign hasn’t raised as much as Schellinger’s campaign, so she may be balancing how to spend her money. She has remained in the lead even given Schellinger’s big bucks, so if she can win without spending funds on yard signs, she will save the money for the race against Daniels.

    Just my theory.

  3. Can you please send an email address? I would like to send you an e-book for review.
    Webster G. Tarpley
    Washington DC

  4. Pingback: Vera Bradley Java Bags

  5. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comments are closed.