HILLARY HITS THE FORT

Yesterday Hillary Clinton came to town in what will probably be a number of stops in Indiana before our May 6th primary. The location chosen was a small diner in the Village of Coventry. What was formerly a Captain Ds was converted into Sara’s Restaurant, a family-style eatery with an atmosphere of politics and patriotism.

When I got to the restaurant at 2:00 p.m. only a few people were present. The day was sunny, but the wind was cold and biting. We signed up individuals as they strolled onto the parking lot beside the restaurant. We had initially been told that, as volunteers, we would be able to go into the restaurant for the event. It was quit disappointing to find out that this wasn’t accurate. It was also disappointing to find out that those who would be admitted had already been picked early that morning when they showed up to get a wristband. The wristband had either blue stars or red stars and entitled the wearer to enter the event.

But knowing these things are quickly planned, I stayed to help. Slowly the lot began to fill with onlookers. A sound system and stage had been set up in the parking lot. Hillary would speak to the outside crowd first from the stage and then go inside to address the crowd and answer questions.

She arrived about an hour late and signed autographs and chatted with volunteers standing in the front. I had given up at about 5:30 and left. Standing for hours on end is very difficult for me with my physical disability. When I got home though, a TV station was broadcasting the complete question and answer session being held inside the restaurant. I watched the broadcast in the warmth of my living room, admiring how well Hillary related to those in the crowd.

Photo credit: Shirley Hirt
______________________________________________________________________

She definitely excels in the smaller, more informal venue. She appeared relaxed and comfortable as she fielded various questions from the audience. I read in a few Hillary Hater blogs that the audience had been hand-picked to assure that those in the room were Hillary supporters and would not ask uncomfortble or tough questions.

I know from being in the parking lot that that was not true. As I walked around signing up people, I ran into two women who had wristlets that would enable them to enter the event. As I talked to them and asked them to sign up and volunteer, they both told me they were not voting for Hillary. They declined to sign the volunteer sheet and said they just wanted to see Hillary and ask a question. I saw the two women on TV as I watched the recap, and they were sitting about two rows in back of Hillary.

Photo credit: Shirley Hirt
____________________________________________________________________

Even though I did not stay for her actual arrival, I am sure she will return. And, I anticipate her next appearance to be a larger venue where it is nice and warm.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Democrats, Fort Wayne, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HILLARY HITS THE FORT

  1. John says:

    I drove to Mishawaka to hear her speak! She connects with the audience and makes you feel wonderful!

  2. 1dumblonde says:

    Campaigning must be unbelievably grueling for anybody. I am sorry you missed the event. There are a lot of Hillary Hater blogs, but I have been reading Living History, and she’s had to deal with animosity everytime she achieved something. I admire her ability to stick to it. I grew up in Ohio. I can see why she appeals to people there. Nevermind the Hillary Haters, she knows what it’s like to be from hard working people who care about their families, homes, jobs, and communities.

  3. I really think she has gotten a bum rap when it comes to her demeanor and personality. She seems very comfortable with crowds. As I watched her, I found myself thinking how sincere she is and how she really does care about the average person.

    I think she does well in larger audiences as well, but what I notice is the effort it takes to get her voice to carry. I think that is pretty much par for the course in that women’s voices aren’t as deep as men’s voices.

    I know that many women have to fight harder and try harder. I find it absolutely ludicrous that she has to endure so much hatred simply for being who she is.

  4. Jeff Pruitt says:

    The only thing I found odd was the choice of venue. I mean it’s in suburbia-ville and the restaurant has only been open for a few years. I think they should’ve picked a more authentic and older Fort Wayne cafe…

Comments are closed.