IT’S BAAAACK!! THREE RIVERS PARADE TO RETURN TO WEST CENTRAL

Yes, the Three rivers Festival Parade will once again grace our fair neighborhood. The last time the parade wound its way through West Central was 2002. The next year was the Flood of 2003, and Thieme Drive, the route of the first leg of the parade, was deep under water.

I remember my disappointment because my home is right on the route of the parade. For several years, all I had to do was step out on my front porch and enjoy the parade. I had friends over, and we munched on snacks and coffee and beverages as we relaxed in comfortable seats or just sat on my front lawn.

While the parade is back in West Central, it will be taking a slightly altered route – one that, even if it did flood again, would not stop the parade from going on. The new route will cross the Main Street bridge and turn south on Rockhill, stepping lively by the Carol Lombard house. It will then turn east on Wayne Street and head toward Van Buren. Although it will not take in as much of West Central as in years past, the mere fact that it will be back is good enough.

West Central has some amazing architecturally significant homes, and, what a treat for those who rarely journey into our area to be able to get a glimpse of the different styles and designs.

Welcome back and thank you to the Three Rivers Festival Director, Shannon White, for returning a long-standing tradition to our neighborhood. Join us this July for the return of the Parade to West Central. Below our just a few of the myriad architectural styles that you will enjoy during your visit to our neighborhood! Aren’t they gorgeous?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Fort Wayne, History, Thieme Drive, Three Rivers Festival, West Central Neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IT’S BAAAACK!! THREE RIVERS PARADE TO RETURN TO WEST CENTRAL

  1. Michael Lehman says:

    Great!! the parade is back in West Central! I love to sit in those tree lined streets. I’ll go back in 2008 for the first time in several years! Great going West Central! Mike…

  2. Hi Mike:

    Yes, I am very glad as I am sure many of the West Central residents are. I can’t wait until the parade.

  3. what are they going to have this year

Comments are closed.