E-MAIL SCAMS – DON’T YA JUST GET TIRED OF THEM?

I am sure we all receive e-mails similar to the one set out below. The sad thing about all of these ridiculous e-mails I receive is that, while I just junk them, I am certain they entice and dupe individuals to act in good faith. I sure wish there was a way to stop these from ending up in my e-mail in box.

According to this laughable attempt at tricking me into letting go of my money (I don’t intend to find out how they propose that I do this) I am at fault because of:

  • lack of cooperation
  • not fulfilling my obligations
  • illegally dealing with non-officials in the bank

The people who compose these messages don’t even bother to make them sound professional by using such “trivial” things as proper English, spelling, grammar, etc.

So folks, until someone finds a way to stop these potentially fraudulent e-mails, please do not respond to any of them.


Dear Sir/Madam,

NOTIFICATION OF PAYMENT VIA ATM CARD

This is to officially inform you that we have verified your contract
file presently on my desk, and I found out that you have not received your
payment due to your lack of
co-operation and not fulfilling the obligations giving to you in respect
to your contract payment.
Secondly, you are hereby advised to stop dealing with some non-officials
in the bank as this is an illegal
act and will have to stop if you so wish to receive your payment immediately.

After the Board of director’s meeting held in Abuja,we have resolved in
finding a solution to your problem.We have arranged your payment through
our SWIFT CARD PAYMENT
CENTRE in Europe, America,Africa and Asia Pacific,This is part of an
instruction/mandate
passed by the Senate in respect to overseas contract payment and debt
re-scheduling.

We will send you an ATM CARD which you will use to withdraw your
moneyvia ATM MACHINE in any part of the world,and the maximum daily limit
is Fifteen Thousand
United States Dollars($15,000.00) valued sum at Five Million United
States Dollars {5,000,000.00}.

If you like to receive your fund this way,Kindly reconfirm your

(1) Your Full Name
(2) Full residential address.
(3) Phone And Fax Number

You will find below my personal email address and contact telephone
number.

Name:. Mr Ben Duke
Email:. mrbenduke_atmpayment001@yahoo.dk
Telephone Number:. +234-8034-224-192

We shall be expecting to receive your information as you have to stop
any further communication with anybody or office.

Thanks for your co-operation.

BEST REGARDS,
Mr. Ben Duke

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Internet, Scams. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to E-MAIL SCAMS – DON’T YA JUST GET TIRED OF THEM?

  1. wickle says:

    Wow … you know, it seems like if someone’s going to scam you, s/he should at least have the decency to write well.

    I got one of these and found it very funny. My 7-branch Credit Union is based in Portsmouth, NH … we don’t have Board meetings in Abuja.

    Really, what ever happened to standards?

  2. Parson says:

    It was probably originally written in another language. It’s sad though how many people believe those things and fall into the trap.

  3. Pete says:

    I’ve been startled by the number of personal acquaintances who forwarded urban legends and chain email petitions, some of the stuff so obviously false that I began to get paranoid about why they were sending it. When they started sending the theocratic propaganda (“FORWARD if you agree; DELETE if you disagree”), I decided to REPLY to each sender, if only to send a link to Snopes. That sort of junk mail decreased significantly. I don’t know if they simply put me on their curmudgeon list, or if it helped them to be more aware. At any rate, this experience makes me less surprised when I hear of acquaintances getting scammed online.

    I’ve been using Mailwasher for quite a while, and I think this, along with improved filters on the webmail boxes, kept my email very clean. I noticed that Opening Arguments gave a thumbs-down to using multiple mailboxes recently, but I’ve found them most helpful. Spam & scam mostly restricted to boxes used for online business — easy to manage. As much as possible, I try to help seniors get email setups with good filters to protect them from those authentic-looking scams.

  4. I have been receiving the Urban Legends “misinformation” too. I have been doing the same thing – replying with my own comments. This is one of the down sides to the internet – no one bothers to check on the accuracy of any of the rumored happenings.

    I go to Snopes.com and check out the e-mailed rumor, and then I put together a response which includes an admonition to be careful and check out the accuracy of the rumors.

    Internet users have to be self-regulated – there isn’t much else to regulate them, but I don’t see much of that happening.

  5. Joe says:

    For me, most of these emails are laughable – but I realize that for every one of us who knows better, there MUST be a few people out there who fall for it. Charlotte was right when she stated that we internet users “have to be self-regulated.”

  6. jeanne says:

    Having lived in several countries in Africa, perhaps I can shed light on the three commonalities the thieves use to demand our information. “Lack of cooperation”, etc. are charges aimed by the power structures in Africa at the citizens to keep them in line. I would not be surprised to hear that these thieves are copying directly from African officialdom missives. The third charge, “illegally dealing with non-officials at the bank” is the most common and quickest way bank supplicants in many parts of Africa use to get anything done at the bank. In other words, a bribe. We called it “matebish” in Congo/Zaire. The thief is assuming that we have the same system here in our banks. He may not know that this way of getting something you want done only applies to our government.

  7. Donald says:

    Has anyone recieved the letters from some office in Africa about a dead relative leaving you money? I get those all the time.

  8. Patti Hendrickson says:

    I received the identical e-mail this am (01 18 08) and at first was going to delete with all the rest. But, something about the arrogant and demanding tone really torqued my jaws. He makes me sound like a misbehaving child and I need to straighten up or no dessert! I was tempted to respond with a tirade but knew that would give him more information so I Googled his name and found you instead. Have you got a real address on this jerk so I can start some bulk mail rolling his way? (Don’t EVER PO a Postal employee!) Thanks. Patti

  9. Simen says:

    Ha,
    got exactly the same letter today.
    Looked up the city Abuja, and.. yup you guessed it right, its the capitol of Nigeria šŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.