WATCHING THE WATER RISE

We have had quite a bit of rain in the last week – either in the form of light snow, rain, or ice. Since I live right across from the St. Marys River, and I flooded in July 2003, June 2004, and January 2005, I tend to keep my eye on it. After going through three floods in a year and a half, I have learned the “dynamics” – if you will – of the river and when I need to worry.

I have learned that if it rains fairly heavily for days in a row with no letup, then I probably am in trouble. If, however, a day or two goes by with no rain, then I breathe a sigh of relief because I know the river will slowly lower. I watch the ups and downs of the river as it adjusts itself to try to carry off excess water.

Across from my home yesterday- the river still has about two feet to the edge of the road – not to worry yet!

 

Today – a little higher – still not worrying too much, but it would be nice if the rain let up.

 

Looking west – a little more leeway – obviously not real flowers in the porch boxes!

 

Even though it can be agonizing watching the weather and wondering when the rain will stop, I wouldn’t trade my home for anything.

And, now that the City has determined that it can’t build a wall cost effectively to protect only four or five basements – something I had argued to them for about three years – Thieme Drive is safe for a little longer. Until they try to bring in the big boys that is – the Corps of Engineers. But that is another post.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Army Corps of Engineers, Environment, Floods, Fort Wayne, Rivers, St. Marys River, Weather, West Central Neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.