JOHN LENNON – “JUST IMAGINE” WHAT CAN HAPPEN WHEN YOU “GIVE PEACE A CHANCE”

Yesterday was the 27th anniversary of the assassination of John Lennon. I first saw the Beatles on that famous night back in February 1964 when they appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show. I was just about to turn 16, and several girlfriends and I gathered to watch the show together. We were enthralled with the prospect of these “British Invaders” – our parents and grandparents were not.

My grandmother nearly passed out when Elvis Presley wiggled and gyrated across the stage on the Ed Sullivan Show years earlier – even though his lower body was hidden. She was absolutely mortified and did not mince words as she castigated Ed Sullivan, Elvis Presley, and a society that would allow this horrific display.  In between breaths and heart palpitations, she declared the end of the world.

I didn’t even want to be around for a repeat performance. Besides now I was older and wanted to be with my friends when we watched these cute guys from England. I mean, really, how can you make comments and even act like you appreciate these rockers when your elder grandmother and your parents are sitting in the same room with you?

So, I watched the Beatles that night and loved their music. Beatles songs became the school bus favorites when we traveled to basketball games and band concerts. What fun it was to sing a rousing chorus of “I Want to Hold Your Hand” or “She Loves You, Yeh, Yeh, Yeh.”

As the years passed though, I began to focus more on the music of John Lennon. I am not sure why, but he was my favorite Beatle. Maybe because I have always hated war and opposed the Vietnam War from the minute it started and as it gained momentum. He became a symbol of peace and love of humanity.

His songs became more worldly with less pop rock and fluff. They said something, and they said important things, like “Imagine” and”Give Peace a Chance.” They talked about his life with Yoko Ono, like “Woman” and “Watching the Wheels.” And, they talked about a life he would never see growing up, “Beautiful Boy” written about his son, Sean.

I remember the day he was killed – I still have the People magazine with the cover of John and Yoko. I put my headphones on and listened to his music and cried. While I know many probably have no conception of what it is that draws some of us to John Lennon, I truly feel sorry for them if they cannot understand the idea that religion and geographical lines should not diminish our caring for our fellow human beings and their sufferings.

Lennon understood that. It is too bad so many others don’t. The link takes you to a website. It is well worth your time in listening to what he has to say.

 

 

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Human Rights, John Lennon, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to JOHN LENNON – “JUST IMAGINE” WHAT CAN HAPPEN WHEN YOU “GIVE PEACE A CHANCE”

  1. Phil Marx says:

    Charlotte,

    I don’t know if you are aware of this, but sometimes your pictures cover up some of the text on your posts. An example is the Dec 4 post about CAFOs. The picture of the ditch covers some of the text. I’ve seen this on other posts of yours also.

    Just thought you’d want to be know about this.

  2. Phil:

    Thanks for letting me know; I wasn’t aware of it. It doesn’t do it on my screen, but I have noticed that in going to my blog on an “outside” computer, the screens are messed up. I thought this was due to the computer I was on.

    Any suggestions? I am not familiar with trouble shooting this kind of thing.

  3. Phil:

    I am trying to figure this out. Do you remember whether the other pictures were always to one side or the other of the writing? If so, that may be the problem. I don’t use HTML much, but sometimes I go to the code rather than the visual. It may be happening there when I switch back and forth.

    Thanks.

  4. Phil Marx says:

    Charlotte,

    I was thinking that all the ones I’d seen were on the left side, but that’s not so. Look at (Nov 25: Save the valley) & (Nov 23: North Carolina corporation).

    I have no idea how this stuff works, I’m just good at pointing out other peoples mistakes. I know of two local blogs that use wordpress also. I expect they’d be glad to help you.

    http://americanwhiteguy.wordpress.com

    http://thegoodcity.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.