FIRST SNOW

One of the perks, if you can call it that, of working a night schedule is the beauty of catching sight of the first snow after dark. I am teaching this month in the evenings, which means I don’t get out of school until about 10:30 or so. Last night was no exception.

As I left the building, the snow was coming down at a fairly light clip. I took my usual route home down Main Street. As I approached the intersection of Clinton and Main, I couldn’t help but think how beautiful the Courthouse looked with the clocks giving off their soft glow at night.

I had my camera with me as usual, and, I thought why not get a picture of the Courthouse. The streets were covered with a fluffy, new coating of snow. The traffic was light, so I pulled over in a parking space to take my pictures. They don’t come near to capturing the beauty of a quiet winter eve with snow falling lightly around our Courthouse Square. The snow for some reason has an orange cast to it. And, the Lincoln Tower looks like a ghost, barely visible. The darkness of the night provided a great background for the snowflakes. They aren’t the best pictures in the world, but I kind of like them.

Facing the Courthouse

 

Facing the City County Building

 

Facing the Lincoln Tower

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Cities and Towns, Fort Wayne. Bookmark the permalink.