BOB LATTA FOR CONGRESS AND MATT KELTY

As I watched late-night TV on Channel 15 last night, I noticed something strange. Several times a commercial for “Latta for Congress” was aired followed immediately by a “Kelty for Mayor” commercial.

I thought at first I was not viewing the commercials accurately. I knew Mr. Latta didn’t belong to Indiana, and I didn’t recognize his name in general. When I researched Mr. Latta, he certainly exists; however, he is a candidate for Ohio’s 5th congressional district – the one left vacant by the untimely death of Paul Gillmore. The primary election pits five Republican candidates against two Democrat candidates and is set for November 7, 2007. The special election will be held on December 11, 2007.

So my question is this – why on earth is Matt Kelty tying himself to Bob Latta? Latta is from Ohio, and Hoosiers have absolutely no impact on Latta’s election. And, vice versa, Latta has no impact on the Fort Wayne Mayoral race. But then a thought did occur to me that an advertising strategy might be for a candidate to “piggy-back” onto another candidate’s commercial to increase his or her visibility.

Anyone out there with an idea about this strange set of commercials?

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Cities and Towns, Democrats, Fort Wayne, Government, Republican Party. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BOB LATTA FOR CONGRESS AND MATT KELTY

  1. J. Q. Taxpayer says:

    I believe you would have to call the station and ask them. I asked myself the same question and here is my thouhts

    It is both men wanted so many spots during the News. There is only so many spots available. They are not running in the same state, let alone county or city election. So my GUESS is they saw no harm in bumping them right next to each other.

  2. But why would Latta want to pay for something that will have no impact here in Indiana? Maybe this has happened before, but, to be honest, I can’t remember ever seeing this done.

    My only thought would be that Channel 15 goes into Ohio on the northwestern side, so maybe the idea was to pick up those viewers.

  3. J. Q. Taxpayer says:

    It has happened a few times. Mostly for the Van Wert and Def. areas. See, some of those people consider Fort Wayne a BIG CITY….

  4. Robert Rouse says:

    Charlotte, I think I can clear this up. AT most stations, TV and Radio, they have blocks of commercials embedded on the same cart or cassette. It’s the same as having a car commercial on right after a pharmaceutical ad with a warning not to drive after ingesting. You may see the same two commercials back-to-back several times until they have run their course. What has probably happened, the local station just happened to put the Kelty ad on the same cassette as the Latta ad, so it will naturally appear afterwards.

  5. John Good says:

    Or the obvious tie-in the Jesus H. Kelty himself. I’m assuming this is the commercial I caught a glimpse of on my way through the living room. Where the candidate was talked up regarding his support of “traditional” marriage and second ammendment rights. Is that the one?

Comments are closed.