ANOTHER CAFO FOR ALLEN COUNTY

Allen County is about to become home to another Confined Animal Feeding Operation (CAFO). The permit request was filed by Mark S. Rekeweg on May 14, 2007, with IDEM issuance on July 6, 2007 – about a seven-week turnaround time. The newly approved CAFO will house cram 1,100 nursery pigs and 7,000 finishers into whatever size building is being proposed – the permit doesn’t provide those particulars.

Just what Allen County needs – more CAFOs bumping into more subdivisions.

CAFO with manure lagoon overflow

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Agriculture and Food Production, Business, Confined Animal Feeding Operations, Environment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ANOTHER CAFO FOR ALLEN COUNTY

  1. Maren says:

    That is terrible! Can’t believe they approve these things so quickly, actually, I can’t believe they approve them at all. They are downright cruel to the animals and the environment. Where is this one supposed to be located?

  2. Maren:

    This CAFO is in the northwest part of Allen County. I just wrote about one that is underway for approval – it is in the south part of Allen County to the southeast of the airport.

    I received the documentation I requested from IDEM on the newest one in Allen County and will be posting an update today.

Comments are closed.