TONY STEWART AND THE BRICKYARD

I admit I didn’t like NASCAR for a long time. My two youngest sons are NASCAR fans, and I started learning about the races and paying attention so I could at least understand some of the lingo when they talked about races, cars, and drivers. However, I found I slowly started liking the races. I don’t have the patience to sit for three hours or more on end watching the races, so I turn the race on and do other things. As I am working around the house, I try to listen for major happenings, and I take breaks and watch a few minutes at a time.

My favorite driver is Tony Stewart, and I was absolutely thrilled that he won the Brickyard for the second time in three years. The finish was great. I sat down towards the end of the race to watch a few minutes but quickly realized I would be watching until it was over. The last 20 laps saw Kevin Harvick take the lead, but several laps later, Tony took back the lead for good.

While Tony hasn’t had the best of years, after 20 of 36 races in, he has compiled winnings of close to $4,ooo,ooo, and he is 5th in the standings. I have not yet been to a NASCAR race, but I hope to at least go to the Brickyard within the next year or two.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.