WELL THIS SURE STINKS!

Whitley County hog farm gets approval to double size to 8,000-head

COLUMBIA CITY – The Whitley County Board of Zoning Appeals voted unanimously Tuesday, June 26th, to allow a confined feeding operation to double in size to include 8,000 hogs. Funny thing is though, the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) had already issued its permit to Doug Western on June 22nd, four days before the Board of Zoning Appeals approved the request to raise the number of confined hogs from about 4,000 to 8,640.

I guess this what is called “rubber-stamping.” Good luck to those who live nearby. In this heat 4,000 hogs are bad enough, but next year should be even more aromatic.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Agriculture and Food Production, Confined Animal Feeding Operations. Bookmark the permalink.