THE BEAUTY OF A BLEEDING HEART

My backyard is small and a little torn up right now, but I have one corner that has come alive after the bitter cold February and the unexpected freezing temperatures of April.

I love gardening; however, I am not a planner as far as my yard and garden. I start with an idea in my mind of what I want, and I end up many times with something different. About two years ago, I bought a small Bleeding Heart. I always read the little plastic stakes included in the pot, and this time was no different. The information on the stake said it would get about 2 feet across and about 18″ to 24″ high. Obviously some plants don’t believe in abiding by that little stake’s description.

My Bleeding Heart is now about 3 feet across and about 2 1/2 feet tall. Every morning when I leave home for work, I look at it and my other plants and flowers and marvel at their beauty. I loved my first Bleeding Heart so much that I planted more in the front of my home.

Although the April freeze was really hard on it, my Bleeding Heart survived, a little worse for the wear. Its flowers aren’t quite as bright as usual, but it is still putting on a spectacular show for me every day. In about three weeks it will be done blooming, and it will slowly fade away until next year.

My Backyard Bleeding Heart

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Gardening, West Central Neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.