TERM LIMITS FOR THE PRESIDENT

Today is the 56th anniversary of the ratification of the 22nd Amendment to the United States Consitution. The 22nd Amendment establishes term limits for the president. After Franklin D. Roosevelt’s death in 1945, the Republican 80th United States Congress wanted to establish a firm constitutional provision barring presidents from being elected more than twice. The rationale was a concern that without limits, the presidential position could become too similar to that of a “benevolent dictator” lasting not just four years but a lifetime. The Congress also expressed a concern that the position could become too powerful and upset the separation of powers.

Franklin D. Roosevelt was the only president to be elected to more than two terms. He was elected in 1932, 1936, 1940, and 1944, with his death on April 12, 1945, cutting short his fourth term.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in History, Politics, U.S. Constitution. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TERM LIMITS FOR THE PRESIDENT

  1. madmouser says:

    I think it was a wise decision to put term limits on the office of President.I think they should apply the same term limits to the House of Congress and the Senate. Judges should all have term limits as well. Perhaps, 12 years instead of a lifetime.

  2. When I was younger I did not believe in term limits. Back then I felt that the voters would monitor their politicians and vote them out of office when they needed to be voted out of office.

    I now favor term limits.

    Heck, at this point I think that we could elect a better Congress by holding a lottery of all US citizens who have not been convicted of a felony!

    Mike Sylvester

Comments are closed.