KOKOMO WORKERS SPARED BY DAIMLERCHRYSLER

In an earlier post, I noted that Kokomo DaimlerChrysler workers were anxiously awaiting the decision about their employment fate.

I just received an Indy Star update which inidcates that the Kokomo jobs will be safe. Sean McAlinden, an economist at the Center for Automotive Research in Ann Arbor, Michigan, said he thinks the Kokomo jobs are “probably” (my emphasis) going to be safe because the company needs the transmissions. Kokomo is the only center for transmission products in North America for the Chrysler group. This is indeed good news for the Kokomo workers.

I added emphasis on the word “probably” because the release uses that word, and it still means a possibility a reduction of the workforce could take place.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Business, Cities and Towns, Economics, Indiana. Bookmark the permalink.