IT’S TIME FOR SPRING!

Punxsutawney Phil made his appearance a few days ago, and, just when I had lost hope of spring ever showing up again, lo and behold, he didn’t see his shadow. For those of you who don’t follow Phil’s yearly adventure, let me explain his routine.

Phil lives in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, in a wee burrow on Gobbler’s Knob. On February 2nd of each year, he wanders outside for the special occassion of Groundhog Day. If he sees his shadow, he flees back into his burrow and six more weeks of winter will follow. If he doesn’t see his shadow, an early spring is just around the corner.

I can’t tell you how thrilled I was to learn that he did not see his shadow, so I am absolutely counting on an early spring. I had received my garden catalogs several weeks ago, and, during this past week or two of brutally cold weather and snow, they have been a saving grace. Just look at the delicious looking picture of tomatoes below and tell me you aren’t ready for spring!

Tomatoes


Tomatoes

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Home Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.