POWER TO ME

I believe in my power, small as it may seem, to refuse to buy certain products and boycott certain businesses and corporations. As the corporations become larger and larger, I realize my small presence becomes less and less felt, but I do derive a certain satisfaction from knowing that I have made my own personal statement.

Yesterday, I discontinued a series of beautiful “Irish Angel” figurines. I had been receiving the figurines for about a year and a half, and I never gave it a thought to look at the bottom closely to see from whence they came. I was quite surprised to find that they were made in China.

I guess since they were made by Hamilton and had a firing , limited number on them, I assumed they were made in the United States. I am really tired of turning over products, perusing clothing labels, and reading catalog descriptions to discern the maker of the product and seeing “Made in China, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, Mexico, Honduras, etc.” Thus, sadly, I will not be receiving any more of my angels.

In my letter of explanation (which I am sure will receive a chuckle), I suggested to the Hamilton Company that it advise potential consumers of the place of origin when its advertisements are mailed out. That way a consumer could decide whether or not to purchase the product.Irish Angels - Hamilton Collection I do not frequent Wal-Mart, K-Mart, and Target. I am slowly trying to wean myself from other companies with whose business practices I do not agree.

And lest anyone think this is taking away jobs from American workers, remember who profits from sending the manufacturing jobs overseas. It sure isn’t the American worker. Think about it – when was the last time you went to one of the big-box stores and could find any number of items that said “Made in the USA?”

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in Economics, Trade. Bookmark the permalink.