The New Colossus

The New Colossus is the official name for the lady we better know as the Statue of Liberty. The words written by Emma Lazarus in 1883 and inscribed at her base are what I believe America represents. Those famous words are an invitation:

“Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teaming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”

I can only imagine the awe and the rising hope of unfulfilled dreams that Lady Liberty generated as those who left their homelands in search of a better life were greeted by her majestic figure and her lantern held high to light the way to a new and better life.

She truly is a grand and magnificent lady who represents the collective dreams of so many Americans, old and new.

About Charlotte A. Weybright

I own a home in the historical West Central Neighborhood of Fort Wayne, Indiana. I have four grown sons and nine grandchildren - four grandsons and five granddaughters. I love to work on my home, and I enjoy crafts of all types. But, most of all, I enjoy being involved in political and community issues.
This entry was posted in History, Statues and Monuments. Bookmark the permalink.